MediaSignage support forum

community support => mediaPLAYERS, Hardware and accessories => Topic started by: kyhillbilly41 on May 15, 2019, 01:32:39 PM

Title: multiple display rollout
Post by: kyhillbilly41 on May 15, 2019, 01:32:39 PM
I was wondering if anyone else is having these problems...??
i have a few locations i have 2 or 3 tv's coming off from one digitalsignage computer
i use a combination of vga and hdmi...seems like the hdmi splitters have issues and lock up and i have to reboot them ...not good if its a business 200miles away ...the store manager keeps having to reboot stuff to get it to work...
the locations with vga is good however its getting harder and harder to find large lcd or led tv's with vga inputs....

whats other people doing out there faced with my problems....??
I need something rock solid and reliable....even looking at a vga out to old Coax to rebroadcast to a channel but its pretty low res quality .....but to add another tv just need a coax splitter..
Title: Re: multiple display rollout
Post by: StarVue on May 16, 2019, 12:01:32 PM
I have powered VGA splitters & HDMI splitters all in use with no lockups....are you using "POWERED" splitters? If they are passive - that could be the cause.

OTHER OPTION
I have used RF Modulators to perform that same task and in full HD resolution over COAX, tuned in on the HD channel of your choice on the TVs.
There are MANY Coax Modulators out there; however these from ZeeVee are affordable.

HDMI Version
https://www.zeevee.com/products/av-over-rf/zvpro-series/800i/ (https://www.zeevee.com/products/av-over-rf/zvpro-series/800i/)

They also have a VGA version
https://www.zeevee.com/products/av-over-rf/zvpro-series/600i/ (https://www.zeevee.com/products/av-over-rf/zvpro-series/600i/)

    -StarVue
Title: Re: multiple display rollout
Post by: Matt_DS on November 19, 2019, 07:24:44 AM
Yes we always use powered HDMI splitters... don't even bother with passive splitters.
However, at times the clients will turn off the monitor/s and that's where we had issues because windows rearranges the contents on the screens that are live and then things would get rocky from then on until someone would reboot the computer.
Look up "monitor detect killer" we make sure to include these adapters with computers that use more than one display.
We have no issues now.

Good luck.