MediaSignage support forum

community support => SignagePlayer => Topic started by: tlawrence on October 12, 2015, 08:23:36 AM

Title: RSS Apostrophe
Post by: tlawrence on October 12, 2015, 08:23:36 AM
We're using the Rss News component with the following URL - espn_DOT_com/espn/rss/news and it appears that any headline with an apostrophe shows up as '  So for an example headline, "Sarkisian takes indefinite leave at USC's request" appears as "Sarkisian takes indefinite leave at USC's request"  Anything we can do to account for the apostrophe?

Title: Re: RSS Apostrophe
Post by: admin on October 12, 2015, 01:01:00 PM
can you run the feed through a pre-processor? to change text? i.e. a web service that reads the data and massages it and you can point to it?
Title: Re: RSS Apostrophe
Post by: tlawrence on October 12, 2015, 01:05:52 PM
Any recommendations on the pre-processor?  I thought your component would know how to handle RSS feeds and an apostrophe is part of that.  I'm also unsure how I would process that in a way that doesn't just ruin the correct grammar.
Title: Re: RSS Apostrophe
Post by: admin on October 12, 2015, 02:33:14 PM
there are some variations of RSS so it may be that this particular feed has it's characters use none encoded HTML.
a pre-processor will be like a small PHP script that runs on a web server and reads the feed, makes changes to it and makes it available to other subscribers.