MediaSignage support forum

community support => mediaPLAYERS, Hardware and accessories => Topic started by: dowN70 on September 30, 2008, 10:10:39 AM

Title: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: dowN70 on September 30, 2008, 10:10:39 AM
What kind of T.V. tuner card does the player software support?
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on September 30, 2008, 11:12:02 AM
For the second release we hope to support the Hauppauge wintv cards...
Release 0.9 will not have tuner card support but its in the works.

Regards,

Sean.
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: dowN70 on December 17, 2008, 08:13:32 PM
I really want to use linux. I think I finally have gotten everything up and running like I want it to. I am using ubuntu 8.10 and the web player. Any suggestions on a usb tuner card with will work with my setup?
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on December 18, 2008, 02:30:32 PM
In out next release 1.0 due in Feb all USB Cameras/Capture/Tuner cards should work fine...
Did you try the AIRPlayer as well or just WEBPlayer ?

Sean.
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: butwhyowhy on March 10, 2009, 08:41:36 AM
I see 1.0 has been released.  Does this mean all TV tuner cards are now supported? 

If they do work;

What TV tuner cards/usb work with windows?
What TV tuners usb will work with Linux?

Thanks
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on March 10, 2009, 05:36:25 PM
Yes, all are supported...

Checkout the tutorial:

http://mediasignage.com/html/signage_video.html

Click on Components > Capture / Web Cam

I am using the TV Plus USB... ( See video )...

Always glad to help,

Sean - MediaSignage.com

Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: ct37306 on March 20, 2009, 05:32:09 AM
Sean,

Is there any compatible issue with Adobe Air 1.5.  I can view my TV tuner channel in the Air Studio.  However, both the Air Studio and AirPlayer crashed everytime I added the Capture/Camera in the campaign and tried to view it. 
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on March 21, 2009, 10:40:07 PM
Hello,
I believe we spoke on the phone... (think it was you)...
I would recommend using the PLUS TV USB from KWrold.

Regards,

Sean - MediaSignage.com

Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: ct37306 on April 08, 2009, 01:02:23 PM
Thank you.  I working now

ct
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: dwtien on May 20, 2009, 09:59:27 AM
Hi,

I am trying to use the kworld dvd maker usb 2.0, for video capture, but have not been successful with incorporating it in the studio.

I've tried using the composite rca as well as svideo input. Is this card not supported?  I was under the assumption that the card is no different than the plus tv, except that it doesn't have a tuner card in it.

I have updated to the latest driver and can see the output from my dvd when using the video capture software that it came with.

Can you please assist?

Thanks,

David
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on May 20, 2009, 12:13:05 PM
Hi David,
Yes, it should work just fine... We have tested over 50 USB devices and all work perfect so I would imagine you are doing something wrong:

Here is a list of things to do / check:

1. Can you see the input feed using the supplied application that came with the device ?

2. Try and use the Freeware app called VDub:
Download:
http://superb-west.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/virtualdub/VirtualDub-1.8.8.zip

Unzip VDub.
Run VDub: VirtualDub.exe

Click on File > Capture AVI
Click Device > Select your new device
Click Video > Video Source and select you source

Once you get this to work ( see the input ), you should try our AIRPlayer next using the Capture / Tuner component.

Always glad to help,

Sean - MediaSignage.com



Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: dwtien on May 20, 2009, 12:37:29 PM
I am able to get view the content using the software that came with the device.

I will give VDub a try.

Thanks!
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: dwtien on May 20, 2009, 01:08:17 PM
Hi Sean,

I am able to view the capture using vdub.

I am still unable to view the content in the Signage AIRStudio.

In the Signage AirStudio, I am going to

Editors>New Scene>Components

I then drag the Capture/Camera to the middle pane (main).

I don't see anything else, aside from the box.

I've tried switching the camera input number, but that didn't make a difference.

Any other ideas?
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on May 20, 2009, 02:28:16 PM
Please use the AIRPlayer ... Don't worry about the AIRStudio.
Also, remember to set the proper device number in the properties of the Web/Captiure component.
You can get your device number from VDub ( 0-9 ) and set it to match in the component properties.
Let me know
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: dwtien on May 20, 2009, 06:06:07 PM
When I launch the airplayer, it prompts me to login.  Once I do, it just sits there.  I had setup a stock player and a weather player, but none are showing up.

I've set up the device number to the same as listed in vdub (done in airstudio).

I am still new to the interface, sorry if I'm missing something obvious.
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on May 20, 2009, 06:19:42 PM
Please email me your login email to mstech [ a t ] media ... com
I will check it out.
Regards,

Sean - MediaSignage.com

Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: dwtien on May 21, 2009, 05:59:24 AM
email sent.
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: bytetechno on August 16, 2009, 06:39:25 PM
hey, i am having issues with my card as well. I am tryiing to set it up for a client. he has a win tv card. i can see tv channels with both win tv app and virtual dub app. I tried 0 to 9 on camera property but i do not get any thing. it is a usb card.

I would really appreciate your help. I need to get this working on about 26 location.

Thanks
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on August 17, 2009, 09:28:17 AM
We tried the WinTV and had average results with it....
I would recommend getting the K-World.

Please see here:
http://mediasignage.com/html/digital_signage_capture.html
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: jcwu on November 17, 2009, 10:40:48 AM
For those of us who are not as savvy with video cards and such, can you post tutorials for tried-and-true capture devices, with examples of how they can be used/configured with VLC (or whatever program is suggested)?
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on November 17, 2009, 10:58:29 AM
yes, you can use the Capture / Web Component:
http://mediasignage.com/html/signage_video.html?videoNumber=8

And, in a few days we will have 3-4 more Video Tutorials for the external application component which covers VLC and much more...
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: jcwu on November 17, 2009, 11:32:36 AM
I had tried the capture component, but the video looked like it was 15fps.  When I viewed the video from an external app, it looked normal.

I had talked to Sean, and my understanding was that the new release would fix this problem by allowing the use of external apps, bypassing the flash video capture module altogether.  So the tutorial covering VLC is what I'm looking forward to.  :)
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on November 17, 2009, 11:44:30 AM
Yes, and coming soon....
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on November 19, 2009, 08:10:47 AM
Now available:

http://mediasignage.com/simplemachinesforum/index.php?topic=461.0
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: ANOOP on November 29, 2009, 04:12:59 AM
The whole weekend i have been trying to work around with the TV tuner card. I have installed AverTV ultra116 card. The card works fantastically with its application software that has come with it. Then i tried using the VCR. When i run the VCR player only the video appears and no audio. When i go to the Tuner settings and try storing the channel number it doesnt get saved. Since this channel number is not getting saved when i configure this with the signage player nothing appears on the signage. Can anyone help me out in these two points:
1. How to get audio working in the VirtualVCR
2. How could i save the channel number in the tuner settings?
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on November 29, 2009, 07:06:18 AM
For the sound, note that it will not go through the SignagePlayer but will connect directly to the input of the monitor speakers, so no need to configure it.

As for the save settings, did you try and pass command line arguments when executing Virtual VCR?
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: ANOOP on November 29, 2009, 08:05:42 PM
My problem is that the sound is not played with virtualVCR itself, I am using a cable connection, should i use a RCA connectors to have different audio and video signals from the sattelite box  for virtual VCR to work.
If you are saying that audio is through the monitor speaker and not through signage, if the tv timeline has to work for say 5 minutes and then move to another timeline, will the TV audio disconnect? When we were using the capture card component this was not happening, the TV audio was not getting disconnected and it used to overlap with the sigange audio.
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on November 30, 2009, 07:11:39 AM
Ext App will work in the same way with respect to sound.
We will add sound support through the SignagePlayer in release 2.0

Admin.
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: jcwu on November 30, 2009, 05:18:51 PM
I've been trying different solutions to get Virtual VCR or VLC to work, but am running into problems.

I had started trying to use the Capture/Camera component, but discovered that the frame rate was unacceptably slow.   But based on the Capture/Camera component video tutorial, I had purchased the PlusTV USB video capture devide to try out.. turns out it doesn't work so well with VLC, so I returned it.

Next, I purchased the AverMedia A180 card suggested here: http://mediasignage.com/html/digital_signage_capture.html but found that the card will not work properly with Virtual VCR or VLC.  The card works perfectly fine with the AverTV application, but the minute I try to use Virtual VCR or VLC, the settings for the hardware get changed and the video output goes black.

I was just on live chat with Eric a few minutes ago, and he suggested this device instead:  http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815100033&Tpk=avermedia%20dvd

So I go out and buy it, and install the driver, and plug it in, and run Virtual VCR with the settings suggested in the tutorial, and yay!  Everything works!  For about 10 seconds.  Then the Virtual VCR preview screen goes black.  Pretty much the same results I got with the A180 card, except I'm able to see video for 10 seconds, which I guess is an improvement, but not much of one.

What's the video capture device that's being used in the MediaSignage blackbox?  I don't care if it's USB or PCI - I just want something that actually works.  Pardon me for sounding frustrated, but I feel like I'm playing guinea pig here.  :(




Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on November 30, 2009, 05:53:33 PM
Hello,

We are using the AverMedia DVD EZMaker USB version, and for us it works GREAT !!!
We tested for a week of continuous runtime with no issues.

Updated page:
http://www.mediasignage.com/html/digital_signage_capture.html

If you are getting a black screen after 10 seconds, it's gotta be something with the settings...
Try and play with it some more. Let us know how it goes...

Sean.

Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: jcwu on November 30, 2009, 10:02:06 PM

If you are getting a black screen after 10 seconds, it's gotta be something with the settings...
Try and play with it some more. Let us know how it goes...


Would this be settings in Virtual VCR?  Would you be able to post a profile.vcr file that I could use?

I installed Virtual VCR, and only changed the settings mentioned in the video tutorial for Virtual VCR, but something's not working right, and I'm not sure what other settings I should be playing with.

Thanks,
Jason
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: jcwu on December 04, 2009, 09:43:06 PM

If you are getting a black screen after 10 seconds, it's gotta be something with the settings...
Try and play with it some more. Let us know how it goes...


Would this be settings in Virtual VCR?  Would you be able to post a profile.vcr file that I could use?

I installed Virtual VCR, and only changed the settings mentioned in the video tutorial for Virtual VCR, but something's not working right, and I'm not sure what other settings I should be playing with.

Thanks,
Jason

I thought I'd follow up with my problems:

Turns out the output going black was specific to ONE DVD!  I was using a Curious George DVD that was lying around, and at the main menu, if you leave it there without starting the movie, after about 10 seconds the output goes black.  Other DVDs I tried didn't have this problem.  Who'd have thought!!

I haven't tried the DVD with a different player, but.. what an odd problem.

Still haven't been able to get Virtual VCR to work correctly, BUT the Capture/Camera component's frame rate is much better now that we're using a more powerful machine (Core2 Duo 2.66GHz).  There's still interlacing problems, but this will suffice until we figure out how to get Virtual VCR running correctly.
Title: Re: T.V. Tuner Card
Post by: admin on October 27, 2010, 03:25:53 PM
We now support the new HD card using the mediaTV.
See this: http://mediasignage.com/html/mediatv.html