MediaSignage support forum

community support => Report bugs and errors => Topic started by: Constantin on June 04, 2014, 11:12:26 AM

Title: station snapshot
Post by: Constantin on June 04, 2014, 11:12:26 AM
Hello,

Today I have some problems with some of my stations.. when I press station snapshot the preview is black .. nothing..

- All the stations have the same campaign
- All the stations have air 4.12.27
- All stations runs on MINIX Android

The strange case .... some of them is shows corectly the snapshot and others don't. (just shows black screen)
More strange is I call to the POINT of the station with problem and there is corectly showin the campaign but in my preview is black.

Can you took a look guys and see whats hapening ?
Thank you.

Constantin
Title: Re: station snapshot
Post by: admin on June 04, 2014, 12:52:59 PM
Is your SignageController working? it must run in the background for snaps to work!
Title: Re: station snapshot
Post by: Constantin on June 05, 2014, 12:29:25 AM
yes it runs in background.
Title: Re: station snapshot
Post by: ANOOP on June 05, 2014, 04:32:02 AM
If you are running videos it wont show
Title: Re: station snapshot
Post by: Constantin on June 09, 2014, 12:11:02 AM
why not ??

It was working until now... just videos and taking snapshots.
Title: Re: station snapshot
Post by: ANOOP on June 09, 2014, 07:46:17 AM
On android i have never been able to see videos snapshot
Title: Re: station snapshot
Post by: admin on June 09, 2014, 08:12:58 AM
When videos are being rendered by GPU, snapshot cannot be captured. That might be the case on what is happening to you.
Title: Re: station snapshot
Post by: Constantin on June 10, 2014, 05:18:09 AM
So the solution will be to convert videos .mp4 to .flv to see snapshots of the video.

What is the best format video to reproduce on android devices and what codec to use?

Thank you
Title: Re: station snapshot
Post by: admin on June 10, 2014, 12:44:33 PM
Videos run in the GPU (for super smooth GPU rendering) and Snapshots work on the CPU and so you will not see the video during GPU rendering on remote snapshots.