MediaSignage support forum

community support => Report bugs and errors => Topic started by: AndrewL on January 21, 2013, 11:53:44 AM

Title: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: AndrewL on January 21, 2013, 11:53:44 AM
I've been running 2 test ad packages since Jan 16 or 17th and up until today it was recording the plays.

The studio now shows that I do not have any ad packages (they did not expire).

The ad analytics shows completely blank.

When I visit the timeline and click on the resource to view the properties it locks up the studio (web and installed versions) probably because it is trying to look up the proof of play record but for whatever reason does not exist any more.

I cleaned out the AppData to refresh the studio but still shows the same results (web and installed versions).

Let me know what else you need from me.

AndrewL
Title: Re: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: admin on January 21, 2013, 03:04:00 PM
Please email us the account login and password so we can check this out...
Title: Re: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: ANOOP on January 21, 2013, 08:04:21 PM
I have had a huge debacle with this proof of play. The resources and scenes in the collection component is hanging in the studio The Scenes with the proof of play hangs in the studio. The Collection component does not run in the player. This happened to us on Monday morning that is Sunday night for you guys. By the time the Live chat came online which is evening for us and showed them and the problem could not be identified. I had to recreate 6 Collection component scenes and populate in 90 stations that has 6 time lines. That is 540 timelines the earlier scene had to be deleted and populated this had to be done in 12 hours before the morning players are started.
Please be careful when you are changing the servers or making any  deviations. Looks like any new feature needs to be adopted only after months of testing.....
Title: Re: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: admin on January 22, 2013, 09:38:25 AM
Hi Anoop.
We investigated the issue with POP and we found out that due to maintenance server migration some DB fields with POP did not get copied over.
We now resolved the issue and expect any new server migrations in the future should not suffer the same bug.
Title: Re: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: ANOOP on January 22, 2013, 10:22:10 AM
Looks like i am the lucky guy to get all the issues:)

On a serious note this is one reason why lot of big clients are not ready to move to cloud computing technology because the client does not have hold on changes made during maintenance or any upgrades. Imagine if it is a transactional process the whole business for couple of days could have gone for toss.
Title: Re: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: ANOOP on January 22, 2013, 10:46:44 AM
What i have noticed is that the old scenes on the timelines when we select hangs the studio. Looks like i will have to populate the scenes on the timeline again even after the rectification.
Title: Re: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: AndrewL on January 22, 2013, 11:01:39 AM
Just to clarify,

1. I will just recreate the timelines impacted and recreated my ad packages
2. Has Mediasignage taken steps to avoid this in the future?
3. Do you do server changes each week, once a month on a specific day etc.? If I have this information I can export the data the day prior just to ensure I have a backup of the stats (stats = pay for ads for some agencies)

Thanks guys,

Andrew
Title: Re: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: admin on January 22, 2013, 03:02:19 PM
The server migration is something that is done once every several years, and sure there are benefits to a private mediaSERVER.
Title: Re: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: Saner Media on January 23, 2013, 08:32:58 PM
Are you kidding me? I just re-entered all my Ad Rate info & Proof of Play last month... All gone!
If every Advertiser asked for proof of play, which I promised them in a contract, I could potentially be out $12,000!

So....... I have to re-enter all proof of play again?
How do I assign the Ads Rate?
It is coming up empty & adding a new does not help.....
Is there a new video explaining this new system?
Title: Re: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: Saner Media on January 23, 2013, 08:34:29 PM
I have had a huge debacle with this proof of play. The resources and scenes in the collection component is hanging in the studio The Scenes with the proof of play hangs in the studio. The Collection component does not run in the player. This happened to us on Monday morning that is Sunday night for you guys. By the time the Live chat came online which is evening for us and showed them and the problem could not be identified. I had to recreate 6 Collection component scenes and populate in 90 stations that has 6 time lines. That is 540 timelines the earlier scene had to be deleted and populated this had to be done in 12 hours before the morning players are started.
Please be careful when you are changing the servers or making any  deviations. Looks like any new feature needs to be adopted only after months of testing.....

This happened to me. Reported it, response was everything was fine.... now all proof of play gone!
Title: Re: Ad Packages 4.10.20 Stopped Working
Post by: admin on January 24, 2013, 06:33:25 AM
Please see above: "The server migration is something that is done once every several years, and sure there are benefits to a private mediaSERVER." this should not effect any future reports as the issue was resolved... keep in mind that the Ad engine is a new release and all new features are considered beta for 6 months after release cycle before maturity into final release.