MediaSignage support forum

community support => SignagePlayer => Topic started by: Vidup on June 17, 2009, 05:09:10 AM

Title: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: Vidup on June 17, 2009, 05:09:10 AM
Hi to all,
i've a problem when i try to load airplayer offline.
The campaign is already in cache due to the connection, but when start tha player,  appear a message:
Can not connect to remote server
Be sure to check your internet connection and verify that your firewall allows outbound traffic to port 336
OK

Any firewall is off, and i have open the port 336 for airplayer, but nothing.

Why until a few days ago was working well and no more?

   
It 'a shame, because I used the airplayer offline when I went to see a demo of my product to potential customers.
Now I want to avoid buying an internet connection with key (hsdpa) only to be able to do this, spend too much.
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: admin on June 17, 2009, 06:12:27 AM
Hello,
Everything seems ok on our side, please try and use a socket test app and see if it can open a bi-directional socket connection to our server on port 336. Let me know, Sean.
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: Vidup on June 17, 2009, 08:04:39 AM
Sorry but I did not understand....
I have to test the port 336 with another program? For example name of program?
thanks
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: Vidup on June 17, 2009, 08:37:23 AM
I found this:
http://www.pcflank.com/scanner1.htm
Result that the 336 port is:
"Stealthed" (by a firewall) -Means that your computer is invisible to others on the Internet and protected by a firewall or other similiar software
This is strange because there isn't any firewall...
I connected with a notebook through wi-fi or ethernet cable in router
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: admin on June 17, 2009, 09:52:58 PM
Check with your ISP.
I for one could not get my email working until I called my ISP and had them open port 25 which was blocked on their router.
Let me know,

Regards,

Sean - MediaSignage.com
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: Vidup on July 06, 2009, 09:24:08 AM
I have tried them all, but I have solved only with the formatting of the notebook
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: admin on July 06, 2009, 11:51:40 AM
I was going to say that it prob has to do with something Asus put in their OS.
Since we installed Ubuntu from a clean ISO and it worked like a charm.

So are you confirming that after re-installing Clean Ubuntu 9 on the EEE it works now ?

Regards,

Sean - MediaSignage.com
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: Vidup on July 07, 2009, 12:36:56 AM
Really i'm doing the test with an Acer Aspire 1800 (I know, not powerfull machine) and Windows XP sp2.
In the next time i would like to install ubuntu

Thanks
Maurizio
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: admin on July 07, 2009, 07:26:49 AM
Cool. Please let us know the results, how was the performance and how did it work out for you.

Alon.
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: nick on July 10, 2009, 08:32:55 AM
I've never been able to get the player to run my content if I start the computer in offline mode.  This is a huge issue for me because it is a pain trying to find a wifi connection everywhere I go.  The caching engine works to the extent that once it starts with an internet connection, I can disconnect the internet and it will still run, however it wont work if I restart the computer and the air player starts without a connection.  What could be the problem?  Any suggestions?
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: admin on July 10, 2009, 01:14:28 PM
This is a bug and we are working on a fix.
I will update as soon as it is fixed.

Alon.
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: sc411 on September 18, 2009, 07:54:35 AM
hi,
What is the expected function of the Airplayer in offline mode?
Does it need an always on internet connection to work?
It should works with the cached campain contents even if the internet is down correct?
Sorry if I've repeated the questions already asked.

Thanks
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: admin on September 18, 2009, 08:38:43 AM
Yes, the AIRPlayer will play the cached content until connection is restored.

David.
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: sc411 on September 18, 2009, 10:11:09 AM
This is a bug and we are working on a fix.
I will update as soon as it is fixed.

Alon.

Do you have a status update on this fix?
Title: Re: Please URGENT!! Airplayer don't work offline (port 336)
Post by: admin on September 18, 2009, 05:03:26 PM
The AIRPlayer does not have known bugs as of release 1.7.36