MediaSignage support forum

community support => SignagePlayer => Topic started by: Jeda on March 16, 2015, 09:14:46 AM

Title: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: Jeda on March 16, 2015, 09:14:46 AM
Over half of my players are not reporting back correctly (all players are windows 7, across 3 separate business campaigns).  The players are set to reboot everyday, but even that doesn't fix the watchdog issue.  I've getting open green circles on those players, pings are occurring every minute, the snapshot still works, I can't reboot the signage player software from the studio, and rebooting the player works but has issues.  If I click reboot, the connection will go in the red, status will report "Reboot Station…", the player will freeze and can take up to ten minutes before the player will actually reboot.

If the watchdog crashes, I get an error message on screen, and nothing will happen until someone manually closes the box and restarts the player or software.

Its complete random if or when the watchdog will work correctly.  I also have notified that timeline updates aren't alway occurring until I do a manual reboot of the player.  I'm assuming this is a watchdog related issue as well.

any help at all getting this to run into a more stable environment would be really helpful.
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: WaterOx on March 17, 2015, 02:50:52 AM
Same experience here..
Win7 and Win8
App version 4.32.37 / Air 3.6.0.6090
Restart can manage to get Watchdog running but very unstable
- have been so for a period and I'm unable to find reason/pattern.

Watchdog not running but full green circle in webinterface
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: teethstraight on March 17, 2015, 06:31:47 AM
Noticing the same problem across several stations.
Win 7 Home 32 and 64 bit
Player v. 4.32.37
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: WaterOx on March 30, 2015, 12:09:26 AM
Did a clean Win install on 2 Mediaboxe.. all seems normal again.
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: DaveMac on August 07, 2015, 10:12:53 AM
I have the exact same symptoms with my two MediaBoxes running Windows 7. I was not around when they were purchased, so I don't have any disks/software/windows that they may (or may not) have comeh with.  So I don't have a copy of Windows 7 to reinstall fresh, but also I notice that there are some restrictions in place and settings

The watchdog usually only stays running for a day or so (sometimes less), and I think it becomes disabled anytime I do a save and restart from the web interface.

Support chat has  told me to empty the cache and re-login, but that doesn't work. I need to do another chat, but if someone has figured this out, please let me know.
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: admin on August 08, 2015, 12:06:23 AM
please make sure you turn off UAC in Windows.
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/turn-user-account-control-on-off#1TC=windows-7
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: admin on August 10, 2015, 05:05:55 AM
I have the exact same symptoms with my two MediaBoxes running Windows 7. I was not around when they were purchased, so I don't have any disks/software/windows that they may (or may not) have comeh with.  So I don't have a copy of Windows 7 to reinstall fresh, but also I notice that there are some restrictions in place and settings

The watchdog usually only stays running for a day or so (sometimes less), and I think it becomes disabled anytime I do a save and restart from the web interface.

Support chat has  told me to empty the cache and re-login, but that doesn't work. I need to do another chat, but if someone has figured this out, please let me know.

Hi Dave, please also check whats on your Mediabox's Windows startup folder. The should only be one instance of autostartsignage.bat  and nothing that refers to the Signage Controller.
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: DaveMac on August 12, 2015, 01:51:12 PM
I have confirmed that there is only the one batch file and UAC is turned off. I have the players set to restart the station each night at midnight.

I tried clearing the cache, and well as re-installing the latest version of SignagePlayer.

Right now, the players seem to keep the watchdog on until I do a "save and restart stations".  What happens if I just Save... do they update at their polling interval. (I have that set to 120 seconds).

Is this a bug or is there anything else that I can do?
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: admin on August 12, 2015, 06:45:07 PM
no bug reported, please check with live chat so they can remote login to your player PC and help figure this out.
it must be related to something in the setting of the Windows PC.
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: DaveMac on August 19, 2015, 04:25:28 PM
I have confirmed that there is only the one batch file and UAC is turned off. I have the players set to restart the station each night at midnight.

I tried clearing the cache, and well as re-installing the latest version of SignagePlayer.

Right now, the players seem to keep the watchdog on until I do a "save and restart stations".  What happens if I just Save... do they update at their polling interval. (I have that set to 120 seconds).

Is this a bug or is there anything else that I can do?

Thanks to support chat I think it's fixed. I uninstalled and removed registry settings and cache.  I think the trick was rebooting before re-installation of SignagePlayer.
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: admin on August 20, 2015, 09:46:21 AM
tx for reporting back...
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: DaveMac on August 21, 2015, 12:39:29 PM
And.... of course the day after the watchdog is now off. Also, I tried the same steps on the other identical MediaBox and the watchdog never started after re-installation. 

During troubleshooting, I checked the Windows version and although the web portal reports Windows 7, window System page just says Windows Embedded.

Still frustrated... it it something in the StudioPlayer that's not compatible with older systems or can I somehow reformat y MediaBoxes and start fresh?
Title: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: FoxBab on November 09, 2015, 06:39:14 AM
Hi

We are running on our machines the watch dog feature and also the auto-on.
all of our fitpc2 were purchased with the auto on feature.

It seems that sometimes when the watch-dog timer reboots the computer, the computer will simply shutdown and will stay like that untill unplugging the power and putting it back.

It happens mostly when the watchdog restarts the computer more then once in 5 minutes. our watchdog is set on 2 minutes

this happens occasionally, on multiple computers.

can you suggest a solution?
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: teethstraight on November 11, 2015, 09:52:23 AM
I've done everything recommended. UAC is turned off and autoStartsignage.bat is in present in the Startup folder with no other signage controller there. I'm still getting a 'Not running' status for the Watchdog. Experiencing this on all systems running the exe version.

Anyone else?

Windows 7 Home
SignagePlayer v.4.34.35 
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: KRob on November 16, 2015, 11:33:24 AM
Have had this same problem off and on.  Have no solution as of yet.
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: StarVue on November 04, 2016, 10:21:02 AM
I also have the problems above in regards to the Watchdog running, then upon reboot sometime it runs...sometimes it does not.
I have tried all the "FIXES" as suggested above and from Online Chat.

90% of my Signage Players are standard Black-Boxes from MediaSignage.
Watchdog doesn't' seem to be 100% stable.

Anyone else still having this issue as well>>??
   -StarVue
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: admin on November 04, 2016, 01:04:39 PM
Is it not reporting back? or is it not working?
can you still for example do screen capture on a Station that does not report properly via controller supposedly not running?
Is it windows only? Android?

regards
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: StarVue on November 04, 2016, 02:19:35 PM
It's shown as a green outline, and it WILL do a screen capture.
These are all Win7 (Embedded) systems with the bad watchdog behavior.

My Androids are all functioning OK in this manner.


The issue isn't that it's reporting back wrong, it's not functioning properly when haloed.
When any of my devices are "HALOED" (Green Circle) those devices will not "REBOOT" as scheduled in the Station-Properties under "Reboot Conditions".
All of the Solid Green Circle devices reboot normally every day as scheduled...Green haloed Circles do not.
In fact those devices will show that they have been ON for days/weeks without a reboot.
If I manually reboot them, some come up as HALOS, some SOLID...but it's random with the same device.
The only think I CAN say is that when I used the "AIR" version of the Signage Player, this was never an issue.
Switching to EXE version, this issue is persistently random....but definitely existent.

Some of these devices have been rebuilt/reinstalled many times to try to alleviate the issue to no avail.
I've gone to the extent of reinstalling the OS on many of these, and starting from scratch, but the issue remains.

>>>To me - the EXE version of the watchdog is not as stable as the AIR version.
The AIR version was VERY persistent, it would FORCE load itself even if you closed the application manually.
The EXE version does not perform this way & in my opinion is NOT a persistent application.

I'll do/test what you want me to...but I've really done everything I can think would cause this; outside of a CODING error within watchdog.
Please advise,
      -StarVue
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: admin on November 04, 2016, 03:54:25 PM
are you seeing the issue only in Windows embedded (not let's say in full version of Windows, if you have any...)?
also does it happen in all your windows or some? I guess I am trying to find a pattern as this issue has not been reported (just this one thread)

I would like our support team to try and repreduce this in the lab.
how often does a player need to run before the WD disconnets from it (hallow)
regards
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: admin on November 04, 2016, 07:42:35 PM


It happens mostly when the watchdog restarts the computer more then once in 5 minutes. our watchdog is set on 2 minutes



Trying to understand your configuration, so we can replicate it in the lab.. how are you setting the watchdog up for 2 mins?
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: admin on November 04, 2016, 07:46:22 PM
It's shown as a green outline, and it WILL do a screen capture.
These are all Win7 (Embedded) systems with the bad watchdog behavior.

My Androids are all functioning OK in this manner.


The issue isn't that it's reporting back wrong, it's not functioning properly when haloed.
When any of my devices are "HALOED" (Green Circle) those devices will not "REBOOT" as scheduled in the Station-Properties under "Reboot Conditions".
All of the Solid Green Circle devices reboot normally every day as scheduled...Green haloed Circles do not.
In fact those devices will show that they have been ON for days/weeks without a reboot.
If I manually reboot them, some come up as HALOS, some SOLID...but it's random with the same device.
The only think I CAN say is that when I used the "AIR" version of the Signage Player, this was never an issue.
Switching to EXE version, this issue is persistently random....but definitely existent.

Some of these devices have been rebuilt/reinstalled many times to try to alleviate the issue to no avail.
I've gone to the extent of reinstalling the OS on many of these, and starting from scratch, but the issue remains.

>>>To me - the EXE version of the watchdog is not as stable as the AIR version.
The AIR version was VERY persistent, it would FORCE load itself even if you closed the application manually.
The EXE version does not perform this way & in my opinion is NOT a persistent application.

I'll do/test what you want me to...but I've really done everything I can think would cause this; outside of a CODING error within watchdog.
Please advise,
      -StarVue

Do you by chance have a firewall or antivirus software installed on the players  or net work that could possibly be blocking the watchdog from reporting back to our servers correctly?
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: StarVue on November 06, 2016, 04:37:52 PM
are you seeing the issue only in Windows embedded (not let's say in full version of Windows, if you have any...)?
also does it happen in all your windows or some? I guess I am trying to find a pattern as this issue has not been reported (just this one thread)

I would like our support team to try and repreduce this in the lab.
how often does a player need to run before the WD disconnets from it (hallow)
regards
I don't have any "FULL" version of Windows running (Sorry), I'm using the "Embedded Win7 Distribution from you.
It will happen to all of them, but at random intervals (I have around 40 player running).
I can faithfully say it runs for days as solid GREEN....then out of nowhere HALO....then I see it runs for DAYS without is scheduled reboot (Because the Watchdog is not running properly when Haloed)

Quote
Do you by chance have a firewall or antivirus software installed on the players  or net work that could possibly be blocking the watchdog from reporting back to our servers correctly?

No Firewall or Antivirus, and nothing running on any of the networks.

IF YOU WANT - I would be happy to give you access to one of my players remotely to control/watch it.
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: admin on November 07, 2016, 09:18:06 AM
I opened a PR so we can re-visit this as soon as next release is out...
tx for the updates...
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: admin on November 07, 2016, 09:20:30 AM
Can you try setting up a cellphone hotspot and connect one of your players there. 
Title: Re: Watchdog not reporting back correctly
Post by: KRob on December 28, 2016, 09:04:28 AM
I run players for two different organizations, on two different networks and still have the same problems as the gentleman above.  I've tried all the fixes listed here but still no solution.

I do find that the issue is much better when I use scheduler and not the sequencer, which I find odd...