October 27, 2020, 05:17:26 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Orphan stations  (Read 554 times)

shawnh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Orphan stations
« on: September 14, 2020, 03:30:56 PM »
Hi,

I started using DigitalSignage and have a couple of orphaned stations, in my SignageStudio Stations window.  One occurred, because the screen disk crashed and I was not able to unregister the signage player and the other for some reason as soon as I added a new screen and registered it, the original was listed with a green connection status and a duplicate with the red connection status.  I have tried deleting them by selecting and using the Delete icon, but although the cross symbol appears next to the orphans, it does not delete them.  When I sign in again, the orphans are still in the list with the red connection status.

I found a post reply saying that this was going to be rectified in 2009!  Is this issue still not fixed 11 years later?

Thanks,
Shawn

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Orphan stations
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2020, 09:06:33 PM »
the post you have read refers to may be a different issue.

as a security feature, you can only delete stations that had not been used for at least 12hrs and Last Update column in Studio's Stations show the value 43200 or higher.  note that said counter resets every 25 to 26 hours so it can go back to 0 again.

note also that you can have stations with the same name - the one with the higher Station ID number will be the later/latest station you've regiistered.

best regards

-ADMIN

EbuscoSignage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Orphan stations
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2020, 02:21:24 PM »
So far I also have not been able to remove them.
Values just above 43200 and also in the 96000 (if I recall correctly), just gives them a grey x when trying to delete, but they never go from the list...
The stations haven't been used for weeks now and also waited after the reset counter (to hit 0) for 23 hours... no luck.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Orphan stations
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2020, 02:35:26 PM »
So far I also have not been able to remove them.
Values just above 43200 and also in the 96000 (if I recall correctly), just gives them a grey x when trying to delete, but they never go from the list...
The stations haven't been used for weeks now and also waited after the reset counter (to hit 0) for 23 hours... no luck.

are you on enterprise subscription? is the Delete privilege turned on for the user? if you are still having this issue, please join us on chat so this issue so we can troubleshoot this further as we cannot ask for your login credentials on this forum

best regards

-ADMIN

EbuscoSignage

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Orphan stations
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2020, 07:09:23 AM »
Turned out it was indeed a privilege issue.  Thanks!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines