November 19, 2019, 04:59:20 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: blink of black screen at end of sequence  (Read 423 times)

dougish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
blink of black screen at end of sequence
« on: September 28, 2019, 12:20:38 AM »
Hi I am new to this system and am using an android player.   
I have a simple 1 minute sequence in my timeline that is just meant to keep repeating.   The only thing is when it goes back to the top of the sequence i get a 1-2 second black screen. 
Does anyone know why this is?  And also what I can do to stop it from doing this?
Thank You

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5005
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: blink of black screen at end of sequence
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2019, 06:36:53 AM »
there is indeed a momentary black at the end of the timeline is a normal occurrence. on android devices, it becomes more pronounced if the image is high resolution which may take longer to load (even if its already cached) thus seems longer. assuming you have just one timeline, as a workaround, you can extend the duration so that the occurrence becomes less - for example, setting the duration to 60min means the occurrence of black is once every 60mins.  the maximum duration is 24hrs.

if you channel has more than 1 item and you wish to repeat playing them, enable the channel's property Repeat to Fit - this tells the player to repeat the content to fill the duration of the timeline.

best regards

-ADMIN

dougish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: blink of black screen at end of sequence
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2019, 03:00:42 PM »
would this go away if I was using a different player besides android? 

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5005
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: blink of black screen at end of sequence
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2019, 03:32:44 PM »
no it does not. as mentioned, its a normal occurrence to have momentary gap at the end of the timeline so even with windows device, there will still be a gap. with windows device though, it comes out more like a blink/flash.

best regards

-ADMIN

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines