November 13, 2019, 04:48:04 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Screen goes black when timeline restarts.  (Read 3098 times)

RThompson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Screen goes black when timeline restarts.
« on: March 28, 2016, 09:02:31 AM »
I noticed that my display would flash black for ~1 second when the timeline ended/restarted. I spoke to support via live chat, and I was told that this is expected - this is normal. I was told to expand my timeline to have fewer black screens per day.

I understand that this is a limitation, but I have the feeling that there are no plans to get rid of the black screen. I find it to be tacky and unattractive.

Ideally, the player would loop seamlessly, but even leaving the background color/image up would be better than an attention-grabbing black screen.

I understand that this may not be a bug, strictly speaking, but it is an opportunity to improve an already good tool.

pholt1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Screen goes black when timeline restarts.
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2017, 09:18:41 AM »
I have to agree with this.  There has to be a way to blend the loop restart.  When it goes to black for a second it makes our professional designed menu look like a powerpoint display.  This is the feedback I am getting from others as well.  Is there a way to improve this?

Thanks!

Lightning

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Screen goes black when timeline restarts.
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2017, 08:16:06 AM »
I'd also like to address this - it makes our corporate run signs look amateur and totally unprofessional, and it needs a solution

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5005
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Screen goes black when timeline restarts.
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2017, 08:47:01 AM »
Easiest fix for this is to extend the duration of the timeline.  Or use transitions effects.

DoctorMicro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Screen goes black when timeline restarts.
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2017, 09:03:35 PM »
I have used Transitions to help with this.

ADMIN, when you say extend the timeline can you explain this method in detail?

I could not get that method to work.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5005
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Screen goes black when timeline restarts.
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2017, 07:19:30 AM »
If your timeline is 24 hours, transitions will not occur, another option is common channel

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines