July 18, 2018, 03:05:22 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Concerned  (Read 1605 times)

vdmidia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Concerned
« on: April 04, 2017, 08:00:50 PM »
I know they're finishing version 6, and I'm happy with that. But I'm very worried about the number of bugs in the current version that have not been resolved and that we only find out when we need to use the more advanced features.

In the last three months I've been trying to put a campaign using ADNET and every day I run into more problems. Problems that do not appear in the list of "highlights" of the system.

According to the "features" it does everything but, when that we will use this, appear the details that prevent the good progress of the projects. It seems that all software is only intended for windows, nothing works right on android.

Look at the problems I have, it's disheartening:

ADNET

- Auto-insert targets using keys does not work. I already did everything, I added a target manually so that the system knows where to point the packages but, it does not work.

- Think about using a timeline with "Packages AD Assets" and "Scenes" with json, rss or xml players !! It does not work, never. If we have videos with different lengths in the packages, we need to unchek the "respect content lengt" option in the timeline, OK? But if we do this, the size of the rss, json or xml "scenes" is no longer respected. EX: even though you have made the scene with 20 seconds, in the editor, when playing in this setting, the plays scene for only 5 seconds and moves to the next feature in the timeline. You can not use both features on the same timeline. :(    So that you have the option to set the duration of the scene if it does not work?

- In Android, in addition to the problems already mentioned, we still have a space (black screen) of about 4 seconds between each video or ADNET package.

- The fade transition does not work. I can not even tell, sometimes it works and then it stops working. Sometimes it is without transition and a false frame appears between the videos. Sometimes it works. Most do not. And even if it works, inexplicably, after a few days the transition fade disappears.... Black screens again...

- The resources Json itens have no moves (point A to B) on Android (nor tested on windows to know).

- The android player does not start if at the moment of "start player" there is no internet connection. No need to have the resources cache, because it does not connect in these cases.

And add to all this my clients waiting, waiting, waiting and sometimes works and sometimes not.

I lost almost everyone, and I'm close to losing the last two clients.

What is more critical is to see that you have the feature, see the tutorial and do everything right and not work. And when we enter the support we are told that "that's right, this feature does not work well on Android."

I already lost hours on the stand, the last time was about 7 hours. And in the end, we found that Android was not responding like Windows. Once again.

Friends, I really like what they do and I think even genail it all, but the lack of attention and clarity with the users of android is impeding our advance here below. If it does not work with Android or has a known problem, let us know. Based on the site, it seems that everything is working, and not quite. Because after selling to our client a resource and the same does not work on Android our reputation it's getting bad...
I worry about it all .... And I see no solution .... I just paid another month in the enterprise, without being able to function as I need, as described. It does not even work. :( :(

Seriously folks, I'm taking damage from these problems with Android. It was better to say that it does not work on this OS.


 :( :( :( :( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4848
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Concerned
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2017, 08:29:25 PM »
Hello
since we were not able to reproduce these issues I would like to assign our top adnet test engineer (Sherwin) to you to personally work with you, one on one so we can connect to your campaign and either reproduce the issue and / or help with setup.

What is the best contact for you? You can also contact live chat and ask for Sherwin and provide your phone number to him over chat if you wish.

We will make this a top priority as we want to make sure the system is as resilient to you as it it is for other customers,

regards.

vdmidia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Concerned
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2017, 09:15:45 PM »
Thanks for the quick feedback. I really hope we can resolve what I said. I'll call the chat tomorrow morning. My timezone is -3:00 (now 01:16 am). Then we can talk on the phone too. Thanks again.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4848
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Concerned
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2017, 02:52:27 PM »
After speaking with you, here is the summary of out findings:
 
- Auto-insert targets using keys does not work. I already did everything, I added a target manually so that the system knows where to point the packages but, it does not work.
It works. Tested on your account:
Registered a windows player (mediaBOX200) and configured the target with the key he is using on the package
After a while (server side processing) the windows station automatically gets added to all the packages that have the key configured
Registered an android player (mediaDROIDX) and configured the target with the key
Same thing, after server has done processing the android station gets added to the packages
had you restart his Studio so that he sees the updated packages with the 2 targets automatically added.


- Think about using a timeline with "Packages AD Assets" and "Scenes" with json, rss or xml players !! It does not work, never. If we have videos with different lengths in the packages, we need to unchek the "respect content lengt" option in the timeline, OK? But if we do this, the size of the rss, json or xml "scenes" is no longer respected. EX: even though you have made the scene with 20 seconds, in the editor, when playing in this setting, the plays scene for only 5 seconds and moves to the next feature in the timeline. You can not use both features on the same timeline. :(    So that you have the option to set the duration of the scene if it does not work?
This is the same thing that was brought up by another customer, where we introduced the function for the AdNet content to finish playback if the component duration on the timeline is less than the package contents. What happens is that the last AdNet content playing plays to completion, the next item on channel’s duration gets consumed by this. So maybe in future release we can come up with a feature/function that can move the next channel content’s offset; so that the next content still plays its set duration on the timeline.
 
- In Android, in addition to the problems already mentioned, we still have a space (black screen) of about 4 seconds between each video or ADNET package.
Not happening on my android player (mediaDROIDX). I assigned the campaign he’s having issues with on both windows and android players, they play almost in sync. I’m not getting long black screens in between contents.
We believe your Android player is underpowered and I do recommend you get one of our mediaDROIDX which is battle tested, we can provide volume discount.


- The fade transition does not work. I can not even tell, sometimes it works and then it stops working. Sometimes it is without transition and a false frame appears between the videos. Sometimes it works. Most do not. And even if it works, inexplicably, after a few days the transition fade disappears.... Black screens again...
I noticed that the default fade transition between contents for android is inconsistent, particularly when transitioning from video to a scene. In this case there is no fade and the contents just disappear/appear without transition. What I did to work around this is to create a transition pool with just 1 transition and configured it to fade in/out. I then assigned this pool to the channel. It helped but the transition is not as smooth as in windows
Keep in mind that ALL transitions were re-developed via GPU in mediaCLOUD 6.0 which is coming next month to beta.
[/i].

- The android player does not start if at the moment of "start player" there is no internet connection. No need to have the resources cache, because it does not connect in these cases.
This is a known issue and have a bug open, it is being fixed post mediaCLOUD 6.0.
0002103: AdNet not playing from cache if player is started without internet
0002104: AdNet does not play when internet goes back if player is started without internet

I hope we resolved the issues and please let us know if we can further assist,

regards,

Sherwin.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2017, 02:56:04 PM by admin »

vdmidia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Concerned
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2017, 07:50:17 AM »
After dozens of tests, MS team support continues the problem with Android Players. And there are two most serious:

A - When I insert videos directly into the timeline, the "respect content lengh" checkbox is unchecked, plays the first video (sometimes the second) and freezes at the end of the video.
B - Any transition between videos, directly on the timeline or adnet packages, does not display fade and has a delay of more than 3 seconds between videos.

My current test player has android 4.4.2 with AMLOGIC S802 processor with 2GB of memory. Quad-core ..

Check out some of the equipment I'm using, and it did not matter, and there was no overriding in their firmware:

This one: http://www.gearbest.com/tv-box-mini-pc/pp_58119.html

I also have one of these here:
http://Https://www.makisshop.com.br/box-android-mxq-44-google-tv-mini-pc-hdmi-quadcore-wi-fi-netfix

And also these ones, which have never been defective, nor are they working anymore: https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/AD6333-Mini-PC-RK3066-Dual-Core-Cortex-A9-1-6GHz -1GB-4GB-Android-4-1-1 / 230160_1125296746.html

My Tests:

1 - I thought it could be the bit rate: I recompacted the videos for FLV H.264 with 1032 of Bitrate - 720p. - Problem A and B still remain.

2 - I found the audio format could be the problem, I switched from aac to mp3. Problem A and B still remain.

3 - I thought the problem could be the ADNET Assets packages. I created a new timeline and I inserted the videos directly into it, without adnet, without scenes. Only FLV videos. Problem A and B still remain.

4 - Yesterday, Sherwin accompanied me on remote tests and could not reproduce the problem. According to him, everything is correct, including transitions in fade and without the black spaces of more than 3 seconds between videos. But here, problem A and B still remain.

I'm in trouble!

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4848
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Concerned
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2017, 06:15:04 PM »
A - When I insert videos directly into the timeline, the "respect content lengh" checkbox is unchecked, plays the first video (sometimes the second) and freezes at the end of the video.
This issue is not reproducible, I recommend trying our Android device or a Windows player such as the mediaBOX.

B - Any transition between videos, directly on the timeline or adnet packages, does not display fade and has a delay of more than 3 seconds between videos.
As explained go ahead and use the Transitions instead of fade, and, in 6.0 we refactored transitions to be smoother (GPU) with more options.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines