October 19, 2018, 10:56:55 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload  (Read 3677 times)

gchambers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« on: March 31, 2016, 01:05:07 PM »
I have a suggestion for a new feature that I think most will find very useful.  The feature is having the ability to pre-load content on to a player prior to the player displaying the campaign.  Here is one scenario:
I have a customer that uses the media player on the weekend for events and I update the campaigns during the week prior to the weekend.  During the week, the media player is not connected to the internet so all of the updates are sitting on the server waiting to be pushed to the media player.  So when the weekend comes and the customer turns on the media player to display the content, they have to wait for all the new content to download (the first time until it caches) and anyone viewing the display sees this.  My suggestion is to add the ability to have the media player turn on at a designated time (prior to when it is scheduled to play the campaign) to allow any new updates to download on to the media player before the scheduled play time.  During this "pre-load" time, the screen is blacked out so there is nothing displaying.  Also, for those scenarios where the media player is always on, adding an option to display a pre-selected image or file while the updates happen would be a nice feature.

Thanks for a great product and keep innovating!

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4865
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2016, 08:55:00 AM »
tx and noted....

itdept

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2016, 10:58:03 AM »
Content preloading would be a great feature. Nobody wants to see watch a blank tv downloading its files....

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4865
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2016, 07:08:41 AM »
nobody does, we do download content in the background... we download everything the presentation uses..

StevieB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2016, 07:38:50 AM »
I think another "feature"is meant:
When an image or video is added to the timeline the playerapp needs to be restarted (by the studio) to show this new content.
The result is a black screen, waiting till all has been (pre-)loaded.

The best would be if the images and video's are preloaded (real in the beackground during the presentation) and as soon this is ready the new content will be showed.
Can this be added?

Thx!

StevieB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2017, 08:48:17 AM »
When i want to change a picture on 10 screens during the day i have to restart the players (the splash-screen is shown). Is there no other workaround to change the playlist on the screen without restarting?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4865
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2017, 03:02:47 PM »
You can save changes to server without pushing the update, and stations will pick it up on next reload cycle

StevieB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2017, 02:23:18 AM »
Then the players have to restart and reload! -
What i meant is preloading during the presentation... so no interruption

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4865
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2017, 09:01:04 AM »
the interruption is required, but will only take about 1-2 seconds if you are an enterprise user (i.e.: shorter splash) and only when you push the update

mati 6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2017, 12:03:49 AM »
When it comes to pushing the updates.
We noticed we have a problems with pushing changes for a whole network during the day.

Players are updated twice a day:
-when they boot in the morning
-at midday when we use 'update all stations with changes' option (which actually resets ALL players, whether there are changes or not)

We don't have any problems with morning (booting time) updates, we don't have any problems with manual updates (via 'start' button in stations tab)
but
'update all stations with changes' usually doesn't push the changes to all stations (all stations reset, but some of them don't pull changes).
We cannot see any pattern. It happens to different stations, with different version of player/ OS every time.

Could you take a closer look at 'update all stations with changes' feature?
Does it work like a 'start' button (sends Play command)? If it's not, then I guess that's the case.




admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4865
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2017, 11:12:36 AM »
When you are saving and using the update all stations with changes, you have to make sure that all the players are online. Any player that is offline wont get the command and will just continue to play from cache. 

Paul of Mo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2017, 10:24:30 AM »
"update all stations with changes"

I can not find info on this feature - I live chatted a while back asking if there was a way to restart all of my clients at once and was told no.

Looks like it is possible - thanks and please direct me to how to make this work.

in a perfect world I could restart all of my clients on a time based schedule.

- Paul

mati 6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Feature Suggestion - Content Preload
« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2017, 02:31:28 AM »
in StudioPro
file->save/upload and there is 'update all stations with changes' checkbox (shows only if you have made any changes).
You can also set every station to restart at given hour.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines