October 20, 2018, 03:25:25 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Transitions Downsampled  (Read 2125 times)

aachief

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Transitions Downsampled
« on: March 09, 2016, 02:42:03 PM »
Transitions sample images down during transitions period giving the appearance of the image going out of focus and then back to full resolution.  So the angled edge of a building, for example, will be a sharp edge - when the transition starts that edge is heavily anti-aliased as if the images resolution was downsized and fit to the scene or screen division.  This looks bad.

If the same images are placed on a channel, one after the other, they transition smoothly between one another without this affect.  This problem appears to be with Transitions.

I have setup a scene with Dropbox connection so we can simply upload project images to folders in Dropbox.  Its very simple way for our teams to update signage content.  But without better transitions we cannot use this player.

Hopefully development will look into this.  Or any suggestions would certainly be greatly appreciated.

blackfox123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Transitions Downsampled
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2016, 01:45:59 AM »
I noticed this a while back, and was on support a few times to see how to rectify this..

What i found out that if using a png in high res, the signage player does seem to alter the resolution prior to transition.. however if the filesize is small, and the image is jpg and a good compression, optimized resolution etc this transition downsample is minimal..

You can test this by using a jpg file, and using tinypng.com to optimize the image..

It would be great if there were no downsample though...

steveRedMinnow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Transitions Downsampled
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2017, 11:27:14 AM »
My assumption is the player is creating a bitmap of the 2 items being displayed and using them for the transition. It is much easier on the system to transition between 2 bitmaps than to transition between 2 items that may have multiple layers to them. That is why you see it change just before and just after the transition.

Development Team: I am wondering if the smoothing parameter of creating the bitmap has not been set to "true". If it has, maybe using the drawWithQuality() function would give better results than just the draw() function. At least with the former, you can set the quality level as well as the smoothing level.

Of course, when v6.0 comes out, I believe everything will be on the Starling platform, so they may have taken the smoothing into consideration.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 11:32:00 AM by steveRedMinnow »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4865
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Transitions Downsampled
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2017, 11:33:53 AM »
yep, ver 6.0 changes everything...
super smooth and GPU.
It will be in release candidate next month

steveRedMinnow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Transitions Downsampled
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2017, 06:40:10 AM »
I have tested image transitions in V6 and they do look great! No pixelating right before and after the transition. Thanks so much!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines