November 16, 2018, 11:08:08 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Adding outside applications to run on the DigitalSignage Media Server  (Read 20352 times)

Video Guy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
We are currently utilizing another digital signage/live media content management system and just notified that licensing costs are about to increase substantially.  Unfortunately our customers cannot afford the increases and this is forcing our company to locate another more affordable solution.   The issue we are facing is related to having a digital signage server and media players that can be customized.  We require a solid digital signage application, but our current media players also play (live) decoded h.264 video over HLS/TCP or video that originates from UDP transport streams.

I am basically attempting to find out if code within the DigitalSignage Media Server and DigitalSignage Media Player application can be potentially customized to support additional media player capabilities?   We also utilize a UDP transport "video error correction" application for live content and another piece of proprietary hardware that communicates directly with our media players with very basic ASCII coding.   

The question???   Has anyone received permission and moved forward with code customization for specific application requirements.       

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4870
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Adding outside applications to run on the DigitalSignage Media Server
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2015, 04:03:01 PM »
you are welcome to join the tens of thousands of customers that enjoy our platform, most for FREE. You will love it. We drive fortune 500 companies so yes we are as stable as it gets... solid!!!!!

and YES, you can customize it all you want with no issues.
especially easy is StudioLite: http://go.digitalsignage.com

and all its source on http://git.digitalsignage.com on both cloud and server sides.

would you mind sharing which provider is increasing its prices?

regards,

Admin.

Video Guy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding outside applications to run on the DigitalSignage Media Server
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2015, 02:58:51 PM »
I was checking for additional responses to my original post and noticed that you wanted to know if I could expose my vendor name.  I really do not want to shed bad light on our current vendor, so likely a good idea to not bring their name up within a post.  They are slowly digging their own grave with recent price increases. 

Also - Unfortunately  I am having a difficult time finding ways to customize the DigitalSignage.com solution in order to make a transition to your product.   Still working through several technical issues related to a possible transition.

Thanks!!!!!

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4870
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Adding outside applications to run on the DigitalSignage Media Server
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2015, 09:47:08 AM »
You can customize StudioLite 100% via http://git.digitalsignage.com as well as change the logos in StudioPro for white label.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines