July 16, 2019, 07:36:16 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://plus.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: T.V. Tuner Card  (Read 27987 times)

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #15 on: May 20, 2009, 06:19:42 PM »
Please email me your login email to mstech [ a t ] media ... com
I will check it out.
Regards,

Sean - MediaSignage.com


dwtien

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2009, 05:59:24 AM »
email sent.

bytetechno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #17 on: August 16, 2009, 06:39:25 PM »
hey, i am having issues with my card as well. I am tryiing to set it up for a client. he has a win tv card. i can see tv channels with both win tv app and virtual dub app. I tried 0 to 9 on camera property but i do not get any thing. it is a usb card.

I would really appreciate your help. I need to get this working on about 26 location.

Thanks

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #18 on: August 17, 2009, 09:28:17 AM »
We tried the WinTV and had average results with it....
I would recommend getting the K-World.

Please see here:
http://mediasignage.com/html/digital_signage_capture.html

jcwu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2009, 10:40:48 AM »
For those of us who are not as savvy with video cards and such, can you post tutorials for tried-and-true capture devices, with examples of how they can be used/configured with VLC (or whatever program is suggested)?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2009, 10:58:29 AM »
yes, you can use the Capture / Web Component:
http://mediasignage.com/html/signage_video.html?videoNumber=8

And, in a few days we will have 3-4 more Video Tutorials for the external application component which covers VLC and much more...

jcwu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #21 on: November 17, 2009, 11:32:36 AM »
I had tried the capture component, but the video looked like it was 15fps.  When I viewed the video from an external app, it looked normal.

I had talked to Sean, and my understanding was that the new release would fix this problem by allowing the use of external apps, bypassing the flash video capture module altogether.  So the tutorial covering VLC is what I'm looking forward to.  :)

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #22 on: November 17, 2009, 11:44:30 AM »
Yes, and coming soon....

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #23 on: November 19, 2009, 08:10:47 AM »

ANOOP

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 741
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #24 on: November 29, 2009, 04:12:59 AM »
The whole weekend i have been trying to work around with the TV tuner card. I have installed AverTV ultra116 card. The card works fantastically with its application software that has come with it. Then i tried using the VCR. When i run the VCR player only the video appears and no audio. When i go to the Tuner settings and try storing the channel number it doesnt get saved. Since this channel number is not getting saved when i configure this with the signage player nothing appears on the signage. Can anyone help me out in these two points:
1. How to get audio working in the VirtualVCR
2. How could i save the channel number in the tuner settings?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #25 on: November 29, 2009, 07:06:18 AM »
For the sound, note that it will not go through the SignagePlayer but will connect directly to the input of the monitor speakers, so no need to configure it.

As for the save settings, did you try and pass command line arguments when executing Virtual VCR?

ANOOP

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 741
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #26 on: November 29, 2009, 08:05:42 PM »
My problem is that the sound is not played with virtualVCR itself, I am using a cable connection, should i use a RCA connectors to have different audio and video signals from the sattelite box  for virtual VCR to work.
If you are saying that audio is through the monitor speaker and not through signage, if the tv timeline has to work for say 5 minutes and then move to another timeline, will the TV audio disconnect? When we were using the capture card component this was not happening, the TV audio was not getting disconnected and it used to overlap with the sigange audio.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #27 on: November 30, 2009, 07:11:39 AM »
Ext App will work in the same way with respect to sound.
We will add sound support through the SignagePlayer in release 2.0

Admin.

jcwu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #28 on: November 30, 2009, 05:18:51 PM »
I've been trying different solutions to get Virtual VCR or VLC to work, but am running into problems.

I had started trying to use the Capture/Camera component, but discovered that the frame rate was unacceptably slow.   But based on the Capture/Camera component video tutorial, I had purchased the PlusTV USB video capture devide to try out.. turns out it doesn't work so well with VLC, so I returned it.

Next, I purchased the AverMedia A180 card suggested here: newbielink:http://mediasignage.com/html/digital_signage_capture.html [nonactive] but found that the card will not work properly with Virtual VCR or VLC.  The card works perfectly fine with the AverTV application, but the minute I try to use Virtual VCR or VLC, the settings for the hardware get changed and the video output goes black.

I was just on live chat with Eric a few minutes ago, and he suggested this device instead:  newbielink:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815100033&Tpk=avermedia%20dvd [nonactive]

So I go out and buy it, and install the driver, and plug it in, and run Virtual VCR with the settings suggested in the tutorial, and yay!  Everything works!  For about 10 seconds.  Then the Virtual VCR preview screen goes black.  Pretty much the same results I got with the A180 card, except I'm able to see video for 10 seconds, which I guess is an improvement, but not much of one.

What's the video capture device that's being used in the MediaSignage blackbox?  I don't care if it's USB or PCI - I just want something that actually works.  Pardon me for sounding frustrated, but I feel like I'm playing guinea pig here.  :(




« Last Edit: November 30, 2009, 05:26:55 PM by jcwu »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: T.V. Tuner Card
« Reply #29 on: November 30, 2009, 05:53:33 PM »
Hello,

We are using the AverMedia DVD EZMaker USB version, and for us it works GREAT !!!
We tested for a week of continuous runtime with no issues.

Updated page:
http://www.mediasignage.com/html/digital_signage_capture.html

If you are getting a black screen after 10 seconds, it's gotta be something with the settings...
Try and play with it some more. Let us know how it goes...

Sean.


 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines