July 20, 2019, 03:38:17 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Browser Component Problem  (Read 3358 times)

teethstraight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Browser Component Problem
« on: June 16, 2015, 11:45:00 AM »
Is anyone else having problems with the browser component? I'm using it within a scene on a timeline. At first it works, but every time I restart Player through Studio, it does not reload, and just says 'Webkit' in the area where it should be. I have noticed that Watchdog is not running, even though it says it is in Studio. Is the Browser malfunction related to the Watchdog not running?

If I restart Windows, Browser component does load, as does Watchdog, but only until I restart Player through Studio. Then problem persists.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Browser Component Problem
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2015, 11:58:03 AM »
what if you don't use a scene and instead use the Browser component directly on the timeline, does fix the issue?

teethstraight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Browser Component Problem
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2015, 08:45:14 AM »
Tried using Browser directly in timeline and I get the same result.

Windows 7 Home
Intel i3
4GB RAM
Player v.4.34.20

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Browser Component Problem
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2015, 10:57:40 AM »
ok we are looking into this...

we will need the following:

The exact steps you are doing, the version # of your player.  the site that you are loading.

tx
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 11:24:26 AM by admin »

teethstraight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Browser Component Problem
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2015, 02:39:26 PM »
Player version 4.34.20

Placing browser component on local channel in timeline.
Set Browser properties to add one new page: http://digitalsignid.com/rateabiz/AFS_rate_a_biz.html , refresh rate 1 minute.
That's it.
First time load of player upon Windows start is fine until Player is reset through Studio. Then Browser does not load page.

teethstraight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Browser Component Problem
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2015, 06:14:53 PM »
Anything, admin? Does this component cause problems for others or is nobody using it?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Browser Component Problem
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2015, 08:36:48 PM »
it will be looked at after next release due in next 3 weeks

teethstraight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Browser Component Problem
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2015, 10:28:31 AM »
Any status update on the Browser Component, Admin?

Is anyone managing to use this component without problems?

gchambers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Browser Component Problem
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2015, 05:59:48 PM »
just tried it and it seems to be working for me.  The only issue I have with it is everytime it loads, it flashes the webkit logo and there is a bit of a delay to display the page. I have been experiencing some weird issues as of late and after consulting with chat, we are finding that the issues are related to a specific account.  I would recommend creating a new test account and try it there to see if the same problem occurs.  Worth a shot... 

teethstraight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Browser Component Problem
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2015, 01:26:58 PM »
This component remains problematic even in release 4.34.35.

The issue remain: First time load of Browser Component upon Windows start is fine UNTIL Player is reset through Studio. Then Browser does not load page at all, until restarted through Windows again.

Also, the Player menu is not accessible via ESC when the webkit is running.

The capabilities of the webkit are severely limited by these shortcomings.

teethstraight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Browser Component Problem
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2015, 04:39:25 AM »
Spent over an hour with live chat having them review the load after SignagePlayer restart issue. Bug was acknowledged and I was told it would be sent to developers for correction.

Menu does appear to be accessible via ESC key when webkit is running.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines