August 15, 2020, 10:11:04 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Security Alert Certificate  (Read 7855 times)

Regener8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Security Alert Certificate
« on: April 06, 2015, 09:06:06 AM »
For over a month now I get a security Alert message on my sign and I don't know how to remove it.
It's really annoying as I have to log in every morning and clear it out.
It's running a campain that has adds/pictures in middle and the only 3 external data it is getting are following :

- News Feed (rssfeeds.usatoday.com/usatoday-NewsTopStories)
- Stock Feed (feeds.marketwatch.com/marketwatch/StockstoWatch/)
- Stock Graph(finance.yahoo.com/q?d=t&s=^DJI)

I have checked the date and time
I have updated Java

Any suggestions ???

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2015, 09:19:27 AM »
Are these custom feeds/resources, and if so have you check the "Trust Content" box under resources for each of those?

Regener8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2015, 02:48:19 PM »

Criley, Thanks for reply.

Not sure where "Trusted content" is. These are custom RSS feeds.

thanks

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2015, 03:21:43 PM »
Under resources, again assuming the RSS feed is a self contained SWF, click on the resource, then on the right side you should see a liat of properties to include the Trusted Resource. You can also try to load it externally with the SWF being hosted on your websever with a cross domain file. The file should not be needed, but just a thought.

Regener8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2015, 03:31:31 PM »
Thanks.

I am using a component called Custom Rss Item. I drag that over to my scene and then on drop down select Custom url.
Then I put in the url i want to see.

Here is picture...there seems to be no Trusted content and it's not a resource or swf item


criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2015, 03:57:06 PM »
The customer was component should not cause a security issue. What is the other resource you have there on the scene? Are there any other resources on the timeline?

Regener8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2015, 04:08:04 PM »

Just these 3...but the 3rd one is an HTML resource that displays stock from a webpage from finance.yahoo.com

- News Feed (rssfeeds.usatoday.com/usatoday-NewsTopStories)
- Stock Feed (feeds.marketwatch.com/marketwatch/StockstoWatch/)
- Stock Graph(finance.yahoo.com/q?d=t&s=^DJI)



thanks for your help

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2015, 06:55:23 PM »
I just tried that configuration on my end and did not have an issue. Can you please post or email me a screenshot of what you are seeing.

teethstraight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2015, 10:52:28 AM »
I posted about this months ago. Have been having the same problem for a long time. Not sure what causes it. Admin has not been able to shed any light on the issue. I'm using custom rss and the HTML component, pulling from facebook.com, instagram.com, twitter.com, and some other domains. My guess is that it's the domains that are somehow causing it. Very inconsistent as to when it appears. Multiple clients but no clear pattern as to who gets affected. Sometimes message appears twice in one day. Sometimes once in two weeks.

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2015, 11:09:40 AM »
Strange, If someone can either post or email me with a screenshot of the message, that may help. The OP states that it happens every day, so maybe we can get lucky to get down to what is causing it. The OP states in the title a Security Certificate. This is usually triggered when the site in which you are trying to browse to has an out of date SSL for their site. You may wish to check that your settings for each browser have it set so it does not check for valid certificates every time you visit a site. You can also add the sites that you are having the player reach out to added to the safe/trusted sites list. Check IE, Firefox and Chrome. The culprit is most likely a site that begins with httpS. That "S" id telling you that it is a secure site and uses a certificate. Again, this is if the message states "Security Certificate" in the error.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5078
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2015, 10:56:46 AM »
we have seen that if date / time is set in the past on a SignagePlayer (i.e.: a date / time is set a few hours or days in the past...) the security alert may popup in HTML / browser based  driven content. Please confirm time / date are correct...

Regener8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2015, 06:27:30 PM »

Sorry for late response but been sick...

Admin if you read my original post... I stated that I check date and time and both are correct.

Criley I will try adding as trusted sites to each browser.
These are the sites that I will add:
- News Feed (rssfeeds.usatoday.com/usatoday-NewsTopStories)
- Stock Feed (feeds.marketwatch.com/marketwatch/StockstoWatch/)
- Stock Graph(finance.yahoo.com/q?d=t&s=^DJI)

Here is pic of message...Whats funny is my second player has same setup and it randomly gives same secruity alert but NOT everyday (seems random )






thanks all for your time.

teethstraight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2015, 10:31:11 AM »
Admin, by "correct date/time" do you mean relative to the time zone that the player is running in? I'm curious as to how this variable would be referenced if it is an issue. Does SignagePlayer have its own internal time that needs to match the OS or the BIOS of a hardware player? Or does it have to do with the mediaCLOUD (your servers) which would be PST? Please help us understand this. I have systems across multiple time zones.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5078
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2015, 09:47:56 AM »
yes date time as per timezone of your current location... just like any PC.

Regener8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Security Alert Certificate
« Reply #14 on: June 22, 2015, 05:48:20 PM »

This has been resolved.

It seems the embedded HTML Stock page from Yahoo was causing the security alert. I removed that content and replaced with RSS feed and have not had security alert for 2 days.

thanks

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines