February 23, 2024, 08:46:07 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: MediaBox 300 - Problem with dual screens  (Read 6300 times)

wolfeworks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
MediaBox 300 - Problem with dual screens
« on: December 20, 2014, 10:54:36 AM »
Hi there,
We've created a dual-screen (top bottom) menu for our customer (1920x1080 each screen) within a screen template of 1920x2160, the idea is to have the menus display for 7 min and then it will switch to a 10 sec full animation on both screens.

Everything was running perfectly in our facility, we tested for few days, we took the same player to the client, installed it, connected to HDMI (one direct HDMI connection and another thru miniDVI-HDMI) only one screen was running the Digital Signage Menu and the other showing the desktop.

We tried the followings:
- Swap HDMI cables.
- Restart Digital Signage player while it's connected to screens
- change the screens' settings (resolution, display on 1 screen, extended screens etc...)
- change the video cards display settings

nothing worked, now we are showing the menus as wallpaper and the Digital Signage player software is offline.

Any solutions for this issue? noting that we replicated the same problem on another player in the office, we had the exact same problem, but we fixed it by, removing the expanded displays, quit the Digital Signage player software, change the screens settings back to expanded displays and re-run the DS software. but this solution never worked on the other player.



admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5189
  • Karma: +36/-8
Re: MediaBox 300 - Problem with dual screens
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2014, 07:00:49 AM »
In the Windows Control Panel > Display, make sure that the screen configuration is top/bottom and not side by side. Also, screen 1 should be on top, and 2 at the bottom. If this does not solve your issue please login to live chat Monday to Friday from 4am to 8pm Pacific Time, and it's best that you have access to the MediaBox during that time so we can troubleshoot in realtime.

Chase

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: MediaBox 300 - Problem with dual screens
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2015, 12:16:53 PM »
In the Windows Control Panel > Display, make sure that the screen configuration is top/bottom and not side by side. Also, screen 1 should be on top, and 2 at the bottom. If this does not solve your issue please login to live chat Monday to Friday from 4am to 8pm Pacific Time, and it's best that you have access to the MediaBox during that time so we can troubleshoot in realtime.

If you are seeing the presentation on one screen, and the desktop on another, follow the instructions that Admin suggested, but also make sure to set the top monitor as your "main display."

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines