November 19, 2019, 04:46:49 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Multiple Monitor problem on load (only appears on one window) - SOLVED....  (Read 1807 times)

reece_screencorp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Player Specs: Gigabyte Brix i5 - GB-BXi5G-760
                     4th generation Coreā„¢ processors - i5-4200H
                     NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 GPU - Running 3 Full HD LED Screens (total output resolution in NVidia Surround Mode 3240x1920)
                     120GB SSD
                     16GB Ram
                     Windows 7 Pro

We have been experiencing an issue where a signage player with multiple screens does not load correctly. Content would only appear on 1 of the 3 monitors, but after a restart of the signage player software it would be fine.

If we allowed windows to load everything (say 5/10 seconds) and then launch the software everything is fine. Must be something relating to Graphics Drivers / Nvidia.

We first of all tried writing our own batch file that would first of all wait 10 seconds then load the player as well as checking to see if the player was running every 60 seconds - launching if it wasnt. This was great until we realised that the Signage controller is required for a number of other functions with MediaSignage as well as checking if the player is running or not.

Plan B which patched / fixed our issue was to write another batch file that launched with the signage controller. The Signage controller would launch the player as normal (which would appear wrong) then we would close the player straight away... signage controller would then restart the player as normal which would then be full screen :D

If you would like to download our patch / work around you just follow the these steps:

1 - Open Notepad
2 - Copy and paste the following text:

@echo off

echo Developed by Reece Pugh - Screencorp Pty Ltd
echo Australia's Premier LED screen Provider
echo Kill Signage Controller on startup

timeout /t 5
taskkill /f /im "SignagePlayer.exe"


3 - Save the file anywhere (such as My Documents) and call it **something**.bat
4 - Create a shortcut to your newly created batch file in your startup folder (Run > Shell:startup)
5 - restart your computer and watch how it works


admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5005
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Monitor problem on load (only appears on one window) - SOLVED....
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2014, 10:43:40 PM »
thanks for the post, but this issue should have already been resolved in version 4.30 of SignagePlayer native exe.
please test it without your bat file and let us know if it's resolved

http://script.digitalsignage.com/forum/index.php/topic,4837.0.html

regards

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines