December 05, 2021, 01:42:50 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://plus.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Print Queue?  (Read 4632 times)

Tai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Print Queue?
« on: November 20, 2009, 10:41:35 AM »
I'm wondering if it's possible to display the print queue? I know that certain other signage players have a feature where you could "cut" out certain parts of the screen to expose the underlying desktop.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5137
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Print Queue?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2009, 01:15:55 PM »
Please explain what is a "Print Que" ?

Regards,

David - MediaSignage.com

Tai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Print Queue?
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2009, 05:41:02 AM »
It's the printer status window that shows you the documents sent to the printer. In Windows XP, you can get there by going to Control Panel->Printer and Faxes->The name of your printer. I work in a computer lab and people are constantly printing things out, so I need a way to display the files that have been printed or are waiting to be printed. I've tried using a white .swf to try and make a part of the screen transparent so that the print queue on the desktop can be seen, but no luck. I'd greatly appreciate any assistance. Thanks.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5137
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Print Queue?
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2009, 07:00:12 AM »
In release 1.8 we support external application.
So, if you  can find an .exe app that shows the print que, you should be able to execute it and embed it in a screen division.

See here:
http://mediasignage.com/simplemachinesforum/index.php?topic=436.0

Alon.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines