December 13, 2019, 01:32:16 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Switching timeline causes player to show black screen (flicker)  (Read 2279 times)

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
I am playing 3 different timelines on a droid atm v4.15.19. The content is playing flawlessly, but whenever it switches to another timeline it shows a black screen for a split second. This is looking very unprofessional and buggy. If a video is played, it will show the first or last frame of that video instead of a black screen. This screen is always in fullscreen, even if the video is not played in fullscreen. Enable or disable transitions does not fix the issue. Besides I am not using any transitions (new feature).

It is similar with the collection component. Just simple png files in a collection component set as a slideshow also 'blink' in and out everytime it switches from png.

I am not sure what causes this, but I am pretty sure it is not caused by content that is too heavy or played in wrong resolutions. My output resolution is 1280x720 and other content is playing in native resolutions, so the player is not having a hard time playing content.

Does somebody have a solution for this or able to troubleshoot this with me. It would be nice to have these 'flickering' pictures and content fixed.

Thanks in advance! :D
« Last Edit: June 23, 2014, 02:51:15 AM by JMH »

HFXSigns.ca

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Switching timeline causes player to show black screen (flicker)
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2014, 07:07:32 AM »
I've noticed this same issue. I'm still looking into it. If I find anything I'll post.

lroy83

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Switching timeline causes player to show black screen (flicker)
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2014, 08:37:33 AM »
Have the same issue.

Any solutions?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5015
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Switching timeline causes player to show black screen (flicker)
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2014, 10:43:07 AM »
please run latest 4.20, this issue was already fixed with the continuous channel feature.
so be sure to enable fade transition (software level) under stations

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines