December 08, 2019, 10:32:35 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: OSX Signage Player  (Read 11602 times)

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5010
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #15 on: August 28, 2014, 05:51:56 PM »
ya as I suspected, so the issue is again that Apple changed the internal working and the install.sh is broken on latest OSX...

petedc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #16 on: August 28, 2014, 05:55:19 PM »
Ok thanks for the reply. Is it possible to manually add the files that the install script creates?

petedc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #17 on: August 28, 2014, 06:42:57 PM »
Managed to get it loading as root at start with a plist file in LaunchDaemons. If anyone wants the steps for doing this let me know.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5010
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #18 on: August 29, 2014, 08:23:24 AM »
if you can, please post the steps, would be helpful, TX!

petedc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #19 on: August 31, 2014, 06:28:25 PM »
Ok here goes:

1. Installed the player
2. I ran the install.sh but not sure if this made a difference.
3. Created: local.signageplayer.plist in /Library/LaunchAgents

4. CHMOD 644 & CHOWN root on local.signageplayer.plist
5. Made sure Sudoers has :
root ALL=(ALL) ALL
USERNAME ALL=(ALL) ALL
root ALL=NOPASSWD: ALL
USERNAME ALL=NOPASSWD: ALL

Rebooted and it seemed to do the trick!

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5010
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2014, 08:17:16 PM »
great tx!

cjsal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #21 on: October 21, 2014, 07:12:25 AM »
Hello
Have signage player 4.20.48 running on a new macmini i5 with yosemite (osx 10.10)
Installed OK but cannot get rid of the top menu bar.
This is still an issue presumably...
Is the value 3 for LSUIPresentation correct in Info.plist of the signageplayer.app and rebootscreen.app
(and signagecontroller.sh)
Thanks and bye

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5010
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #22 on: October 21, 2014, 10:35:01 AM »
we are working a new SignagePlayer for Windows (exe, to be release in November, 2014) and new Mac is also being tested, no ETA for Mac yet...

cjsal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #23 on: October 22, 2014, 12:41:26 AM »
Thanks for the prompt answer
Looks like boot camp then

jroy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #24 on: January 05, 2015, 06:18:05 AM »
Has anyone been able to get signageplayer to work under Yosemite? I followed all the directions in the video and it still gives me the the not running as admin/root error. I even did petedc's directions and created the plist file manually in LaunchAgents.

EDIT: It looks like I just needed to install XQuartz.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2015, 12:19:57 PM by jroy »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5010
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #25 on: January 06, 2015, 05:20:27 PM »
thanks for updating on your findings...

HiThere

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #26 on: April 29, 2015, 09:48:40 AM »
@ Admin (http://script.digitalsignage.com/forum/index.php/topic,4552.msg13524.html#msg13524)

Working with  Yosemite and SignagePlayer v 4.20.46, I also can't get rid of the topmenu.

But the green maximise buton makes an app go full screen hiding topmenu and dock. SignagePlayer does not have a maximize button so i can not 'manualy' hide the topmenu.

The info.plist sets the LSUIPresentationMode to 3 and looking trough the web I also find an advise to use 4. Result was the same. Topmenu stays in sight.

So I was thinking, Can this be solved via software. Like by running the sub normaly called by a  green button click?


Oh. And a BIG Thanks for SignageStudio and SignagePlayer!










mosjoen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OSX Signage Player
« Reply #27 on: August 25, 2015, 02:32:56 PM »
I made an automator script that simply runs the mac app preview on top of signageplayer, with menu bar and mouse pointer hidden. Not a perfect solution, so, any news on that new version for mac?

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines