January 31, 2023, 06:02:02 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://plus.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Video Times and Run Times  (Read 7798 times)

faithnhim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Video Times and Run Times
« on: November 16, 2009, 03:35:15 PM »
We are having an issue with the video information in the signage studio. We are having two issues:

1) "Total Time" is often listed as "0." It should come through with the total time the video is, whether it's 2:32 or 4:35. Is this something that can be fixed or is being worked on now?

2) When placing a video file into a channel it does not fit to the time of the video. In order to know if the video is being played in its entirety or if it's being rerun, you have to watch the whole program and guess how much time has to be taken off or added. It involves A LOT of tweaking in order for the video to play in the time it's supposed to. Is there a secret trick to get the video to play in its entirety or are we going to have to tweak it by 3 and 5 seconds before it is correct?

Your answers would be greatly appreciated! Thank you so much.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5161
  • Karma: +36/-8
Re: Video Times and Run Times
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2009, 07:20:43 PM »
1) Try and do a Capture thumbnail for the Video (Camera Icon under resources), does that update the Video length ?

2) #1 should fix the issue. Once the length of the Video is registered, dragging it onto the Timeline will set the default Video length.

Let me know,

David.

faithnhim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Video Times and Run Times
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2009, 01:46:08 PM »
It did not work.

I did the following steps:
1. Under navigation, selected "Resources"
2. Located mov file and selected it
3. When the image appeared in the third zone, selected "capture"
4. Nothing changed

Please help.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5161
  • Karma: +36/-8
Re: Video Times and Run Times
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2009, 01:51:27 PM »
I believe the limitation is due to the file being an MOV.
I will a open bug and see if we can improve the functionality.

If you can, please try FLV and MP4 file formats as I believe it will work as expected on these formats.

Sean.

faithnhim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Video Times and Run Times
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2009, 02:05:49 PM »
If we convert then to MP4 or FLV will it automatically set the time? If so, then when importing it into a channel it should go with the correct time, correct?


admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5161
  • Karma: +36/-8
Re: Video Times and Run Times
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2009, 02:09:15 PM »
Yes, MP4 and FLV do update the stats....

faithnhim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Video Times and Run Times
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2009, 10:42:20 AM »
We converted MOV files to MP4 and saved the upload. They are still showing a time of 0 and are not importing into a channel at the correct time. We also tried "capture" to capture an image from the MP4 file and still nothing.

Any other suggestions?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5161
  • Karma: +36/-8
Re: Video Times and Run Times
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2009, 01:59:28 PM »
Strange...
Please try one last thing. Try and FLV file.
If that doesn't work I will login and try it myself...
Thanks,

David.

faithnhim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Video Times and Run Times
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2009, 03:44:11 PM »
Great news. The FLV files worked and the time is correct. Do you think the MP4 files will be fixed soon since they are smaller files than FLV?

Thank you again for your tremendous help.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5161
  • Karma: +36/-8
Re: Video Times and Run Times
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2009, 05:00:07 PM »
Ok, I will look into this and see what we can do...

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines