December 14, 2019, 07:56:04 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://plus.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working  (Read 10750 times)

ANOOP

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 741
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #15 on: July 27, 2014, 08:56:06 PM »
In my system when the download message to upgrade from 4.20.16 to 4.20.22 comes in i tried to download and install but the problem is it keeps saying error in installer file. Everytime i will have to delete the whole studio folder and reinstall, which is a big head ache .

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #16 on: July 27, 2014, 08:59:04 PM »
I did not go from 16 like you, but I just upgraded to 22 without issue.

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #17 on: July 27, 2014, 10:24:13 PM »
I've uninstalled Adobe Air and reinstalled and get the same issues.  I did the same with flash. 

Admin, what is my next step?

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #18 on: July 28, 2014, 06:36:44 AM »
That is rather odd. Maybe make sure that your windows is fully up to date. When it hangs or locks up, I am assuming you left it there for a bit to see if it would eventually run again. I know you said that you have uninstalled Air and reinstalled it so I am assuming you have the latest of that as well. Did you remove both Air and Signage Studio, reboot your computer then try reinstalling Studio following the prompts to install Air and again rebooting the computer?

I am just trying to think of different options.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #19 on: July 28, 2014, 06:42:31 AM »
Please check the system time and date of the station you are working on..  This is a common issue with incorrect date and time set on workstations and Adobe Air. 
You can also delete the installation folder of the Signage Studio and install from our site. 

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #20 on: July 28, 2014, 07:41:21 AM »
Well, I'm not sure of exactly fixed the problem but here are the steps I went through.  Since my computer is working perfectly with the exception of this problem, and Admin strongly suggesting it is an issue with the AIR installation, that is what I focused on.

1.  Last night I went ahead and upgraded my PC from Windows 7 to 8.1 with all updates installed.  Problem still persisted.
2.  This morning, I cleared the signage.xxx, deleted the Studio installation folder in programs and uninstalled Adobe Air.
3.  I deleted all Adobe Air registry items and rebooted.
4.  I started by doing a clean install of Air and then installed Studio v4.15 that I had previously saved to my desktop.
5.  The v4.15 installed fine but did not give me an option to upgrade, so I closed and restarted it.  It then asked me to upgrade to v4.20.22.
6.  v4.20.22 installed perfectly and all is fine in Qualityville now!!

I think the registry clean and deleting the Studio installation folder from programs is what did the trick.  These are the only things I hadn't tried before.

THANK YOU ALL FOR THE HELP AND SUGGESTIONS!!!
« Last Edit: July 28, 2014, 07:43:02 AM by IPNDDS »

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #21 on: July 28, 2014, 07:49:38 AM »
I am glad it worked out

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #22 on: July 28, 2014, 08:01:44 AM »
I think I know the issue, our SignagePlayer install stamp time was ahead 1/2 a day, and when enough hours went but it became "the past" for your PC which allowed the installed.
Sounds like "Back to the future" I know ;)

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #23 on: July 28, 2014, 08:09:18 PM »
Oh, for pete's sake.  What's going on now?  The same problem is suddenly back.  It was working all day and then nothing.  Can you please check your time stamp again and see that everything is correct? 

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #24 on: July 28, 2014, 09:52:05 PM »
I am at a loss. so it was working fine then it started locking up again? I cant see how the SignagePlayer time stamp has anything to do with the SignageStudio, but who knows. I am not sure if I can be of anymore help, but if you want to email me your password or of one you can create from another computer I will have a look.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #25 on: July 29, 2014, 06:58:34 AM »
when we compile the SignagePlayer or SignageStudio, it uses a date to generate an App certificate, and if our time is ahead of your install PC time, you may get an error.

ANOOP

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 741
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #26 on: July 29, 2014, 08:26:43 AM »
What is the solution for this?? Do we need to change our time on the PC :)

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #27 on: July 29, 2014, 08:30:43 AM »
I would think the easiest for all if this is the issue is to compile the app and then wait 24 hours for a release to the public.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #28 on: July 29, 2014, 01:59:30 PM »
ya well we resolved the issue, so it's a non-issue...

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #29 on: July 29, 2014, 07:50:57 PM »
Wonderful

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines