December 17, 2017, 05:20:10 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working  (Read 6678 times)

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« on: July 26, 2014, 03:15:24 PM »
Hi,

I installed ver 4.20.20 and then 4.20.21 and both times the Studio installed but locked up during login.  Now, I am dead in the water as far as making updates to client projects.  What is going on?

Thanks.

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2014, 03:19:04 PM »
I am not having any issues with either version as far as stability. I am on a Windows system if that matters. Please try and delete your Studio Cache and try again.

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2014, 03:41:32 PM »
Hi.  Windows 7 here, too.  I've uninstalled, deleted cache (studio.xxx) and still get the same result.  I've tried disabling firewall and antivirus but still get the same results.  The studio stalls when loading.  Any other ideas?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2014, 04:06:29 PM »
we just ran tests and all seems fine, please post your login user so we can test your account...

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2014, 04:27:29 PM »
Hi Admin, it's ipndds@ipnarrowcast.com.

It was working fine with ver. 4.15 but the problems started after installing the 4.20 update.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2014, 04:29:47 PM by IPNDDS »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2014, 06:39:46 PM »
I just logged in just fine with your user name... are you still having an issue?
did update to latest 4.20?

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2014, 07:35:20 PM »
ipndds,

Did you ever get it to work? Also, have you tried from a different machine by chance? You should not have to make any network or firewall changes. Mine is on deafults.  I am not on Windows 7, but on Windows 8.1. Also try the web studio to see if you have luck with that as an alternative until you get it working.

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2014, 10:18:39 PM »
I can log in via the web studio but again, not on the desktop studio ver 4.20.20.  I uninstalled, cleaned the studio.xxx and reinstalled with the same result...after I enter user and password, it stalls at loading 100%.  I really need to get this resolved.  It worked fine with ver 4.15 but these problems started after upgrading to ver 4.20.

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2014, 10:36:28 PM »
I just reinstalled ver 4.15.24 and it opened just fine after install.  I'm baffled.  Help!

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2014, 10:45:23 PM »
Hmmmm. Did you try updating again to see if that does the same thing? You may want to try running as admin if that doesn't work. Do it after you try upgrading to eliminate anything else incase that does work.

So try upgrading and if it doesn't work, uninstall and delete cache as you did to reinstall 4.15. Then run Studio as Admin by right clicking on program as "run as admin". And try updating from there. I would be curious if this would work.

It has to be something on your computer since we have found that your account logs in fine from other computers/networks. It is late for me, so I will probably not respond again until tomorrow. Let me know how it goes..

Chris

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2014, 12:31:33 PM »
Chris,  I've upgraded to v4.20.21 on a separate laptop and studio launches normally.  On the computer I'm having issues with, I've uninstalled and deleted studio.xxx and tried to run as admin but still get the same results...it locks up on load.  I shut down all of my firewall and and antivirus, including windows firewall.  Same result.  Obviously, it is an issue with my computer but I have no idea what to try next.  Suggestions?  I'm going to try a system restore next.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2014, 12:34:52 PM »
ok let us know...

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2014, 12:46:08 PM »
Could this problem be caused by Adobe AIR? Maybe reinstalling adobe air could work?

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #13 on: July 27, 2014, 12:50:28 PM »
I've already tried reinstalling AIR.  I didn't affect anything.

Admin,  even though it appears to be a problem with my computer, why does studio v 4.15 work just fine but after upgrading to v 4.20.20 or 4.20.21 it does not work?  That seems to point to an issue with the install.

NOTE:  The installer on the digitalsignage.com website (Get Started) states that the installer is damaged.  This forces me to install v 4.15 and upgrade to v 4.20.21 through studio.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2014, 12:55:41 PM by IPNDDS »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4737
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.20.20 and 4.20.21 Not Working
« Reply #14 on: July 27, 2014, 03:38:07 PM »
The installer is not damaged, tested now.
Which proves what I suspect, somehow your Windows Adobe AIR install got corrupted, that is why you only seeing the issue on the one particular PC.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines