July 22, 2019, 10:11:22 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).  (Read 6122 times)

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Since the lite version hit V1 I am trying to build some digital signage with it. First of all I have to say that it has become A LOT better and it is looking very, very promising!

Though, I encounter a problem, I don't know of it's me doing something wrong or if it's a bug. I have made a campain and gave it a name. After that, I select this campaign to play on an android player, which is seen in the stations tab. After that, I select 'save and restart stations'. The android player (software) shuts down, so the standard signagecontroller background is visible. After a while, the signage controller restarts the player, but it still has no campaign set to it. It also has output: none (could this cause the problem?). Whenever I just hit 'save' it also doesn't work. I can't figure out where I can set the output (I know I might be able to do this when I log in into the pro version, but obviously I would like to do everything with the lite version ;D)

Another thing I noticed is that I am unable to go back to the campaigns menu where all my campaigns are shown whenever I am inside a campaign to edit it (do I overlook a 'back' button?).

What am I doing wrong?
Thanks in advance!

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2014, 02:49:51 AM »
Ok, so whenever I saved the settings and going back to tab 'campaign', or some other tab before going to tab 'stations', the campaign the station had to play wasn't stored. Besides, I noticed that the station wasn't shown with its station name next to the green dot. However, it was shown at the right top side of the screen. After I saved again I logged out and logged back in again, the station name was shown next to the green dot. Besides it also saved which campaign to play. By choosing save and restart player, the player restarted and plays the campaign :D :D :D

I still have the question, how to go back to the campaigns main menu, whenever I am editting a campaign without having to logout and back in again.

I also noticed, that whenever I use the HTML website content plugin, I am unable to save a website (http://...), so the default website is being shown. This is weird, because a custom RSS ticker tape is stored and shown perfectly  :). Whenever I try to do this on my android tablet using the default browser, hitting the 'web adress' will cause the tablet to change the web adress of the browser.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2014, 05:53:52 AM by JMH »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2014, 07:18:20 AM »
thx for the update, we will release these bug fixes and more improvements next week.
going back to campaign is another feature that will come shortly.

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2014, 11:25:38 AM »
Thanks for your fast response. That's great news :D! I'm very exciting about how the Lite version is starting to look. I hope it will be a steady build soon, so I can start customizing it :)

Wow! I see you guys already fixed the HTML bug -> now it saves my webpage, but still shows the 'digg' page.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2014, 11:51:20 AM by JMH »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2014, 01:47:38 PM »
what do you mean it shows Digg? you should be able to edit it....

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2014, 12:58:09 AM »
I mean it shows the website 'www.dig.com', this was the previous default webpage. I tryed to clear the Android player's cache, but it stills shows this website. However, it is possible for me to change the web address. After saving, this web adress is still shown in the lite editor as it should (it wasn't before, so that was fixed very fast!), so I think it has to do something with the player's cache. Or perhaps is there a possibility that however I set a new web address and save, the database is not updated with this new web address (so the player doesn't know it has to show a different web page)?

Another thing I found out and might be helpfull for you to improve the Lite version is the following: On my android tablet using default android browser I have some problems with the screen layout editor (so campain -> edit screen layout). It doesn't show the controls for adding/deleting screen etc (see attached screenshot). However, when I go for 'resources' for instance and than go back to Campaign, the buttons are shown properly and everything works like it should, until I select a screen to edit its size or position, than this problem occures again.



admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2014, 07:04:03 AM »
I see, as of current release we are only testing StudioLite on latest PC based browsers of: Chrome, FF, IE and Safari (Mac only).
We still have many more features to add to StudioLite, once we get to release 1.5, we will begin testing on Mobile browsers as well...
For now, the focus is on features and latest PC based browsers.

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2014, 07:23:54 AM »
Ok, I understand. I thought I would just let you guys know ;). Any idea when stable release will be ready?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2014, 08:54:42 AM »
current release 1.0 is stable and non-beta. if you find a bug be sure to report and we'll get it fixed (i.e.: HTML web address ;) )

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2014, 09:35:11 AM »
Ok, nice. But I still can't get the HTML to work  :-\ it shows www.digg.com no matter what I try  ::)
When I login to my lite account using the pro studio, it indeed shows digg.com at the HTML, so something goes wrong in the Lite version -> database.
I use Chrome on desktop by the way.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2014, 09:42:21 AM by JMH »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2014, 03:01:54 PM »
post your login user here (no password) and I will check on your account

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2014, 02:48:55 AM »
I have send you an email. Thank you!

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4946
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2014, 04:15:52 PM »
thx will check soon...

Xizor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #13 on: July 01, 2014, 07:19:00 PM »
Here's a video demonstrating the HTML issue where URLs are not stored by the component therefore resulting in digg.com being the website that is displayed.

Thanks to JMH for finding this as it's a pretty important feature.

http://screencast.com/t/A25vZ6BkAov


JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Lite player doesn't play campaign (does not store setting).
« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2014, 02:09:16 AM »
Hi Xizor,

I have checked with Sean about this issue and he already fixed the problem you show in your video. At the moment the webpage will save. But there is some issue with the player not knowing about this change (if you login with the pro version, you will see that there's still the digg.com). He is working on it and this will be fixed very soon.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines