July 09, 2020, 09:42:04 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Android not longer working stable after update 4.15  (Read 4622 times)

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Android not longer working stable after update 4.15
« on: May 27, 2014, 06:35:07 AM »
I am experiencing some stability issues on my android player after updating to version 4.15. I have a campain running 2 timelines (the campain worked flawlessly on 4.12). The timelines both contain the same png background, a collection component containing png's and a tickertape. The first timeline also contains a weather player. In the second timeline everything is the same, but besides the weather player there is a small html player (for google agenda).

This is my problem: the player plays the first timeline (1 minute) flawlessly, just like on the previous version 4.12. But when it will play the next timeline, containing the HTML, it will only show the background png and the html content. So the collection component stops working, the weather player stops working and the tickertape stops working. After the player 'finishes' this timeline, it goes back to the first timeline. But this time only the background will be played from now on. On the second timeline the background and HTML player is played, but nothing else.

Trying to make a 'snapshot' also fails and causes the studio pro to freeze.

Excuse me for posting this topic in the wrong section  ::) I see now I haven't posted it in the Bugs & errors section of the forum.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5066
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Android not longer working stable after update 4.15
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2014, 09:01:58 AM »
Hi,

Can you email Lawrence (Mstech@mediasignage.com), the following so we can test the campaign on our players.

Business ID#
Username:
Campaign name:

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Android not longer working stable after update 4.15
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2014, 01:48:47 AM »
Done. Thanks for your support! I am also trying to narrow down this problem at the moment.

eska2000@gmail.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Android not longer working stable after update 4.15
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2014, 10:59:47 PM »
Hi,
I have the same problem on Android and Windows. I sent you my ID, username and campaign.

eska2000@gmail.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Android not longer working stable after update 4.15
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2014, 06:28:40 AM »
Yes! I fix it! :)
Background was in common channel. I moved it to the local channel and everything's ok now!

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Android not longer working stable after update 4.15
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2014, 12:43:02 PM »
I have all in local channel. I have rolled back my android player to 4.12 and now it is working again. Would like to go to 4.15 though.

I am wondering if MS have any luck, didn't hear anything from Lawrence (yet).

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5066
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Android not longer working stable after update 4.15
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2014, 03:25:47 PM »
I have all in local channel. I have rolled back my android player to 4.12 and now it is working again. Would like to go to 4.15 though.

I am wondering if MS have any luck, didn't hear anything from Lawrence (yet).

Yeah, we are already looking into the issue.  Hopefully we will have a fix for it soon.
You're the one with the account : info@encs.nl ?

I tested it and got it working by switching the timeline sequence. Very odd.

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Android not longer working stable after update 4.15
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2014, 01:05:39 AM »
Yes, you can contact me by that adres. That is very odd indeed. Perhaps it is caused by the second timeline having 1 more channel than the first one? I will try it on my device as well. Thanks for the heads up!

Edit: Switching timeline sequence indeed seem to work (it is playing fine atm, but just for a few minutes now)! Besides, I notice you guys have an android player running with a copy of this campain. I am wondering if that campain runs smooth, because in that campain the timelines are not switched. Whenever I play the copy on my device, the same problems occure.
Very odd though, that playing the timelines on a different sequence does not cause any problems.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2014, 01:15:53 AM by JMH »

JMH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Android not longer working stable after update 4.15
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2014, 01:35:58 AM »
I have received an email from Eric. MS has updated the software. I have restarted my Android player, which now has version number: 4.15.19 (4.15.24) according to the player itsself and 4.15.19 according to the studio.

I also tested this on a Windows player, this player needed a new air version (but this auto installs if you have the settings right). So after pressing update (from the studio software), this player updated to 4.15.24 without any problem and is also playing the campain without any problem at this moment.

Thanks to the guys from MS for this quick fix! For the people facing the same problem, try to update the software and you should be fine now :).

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines