December 04, 2021, 11:38:19 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://plus.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: What type of accounts does the StudioLite API have access to?  (Read 5522 times)

eddie.stanley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
We use DigitalSignage Pro to manage content and schedules on our LED Billboards in a enterprise account. The way we sell packages makes scheduling a nightmare with the current tools available. I was looking in to creating a tool that would help our scheduling department to work more efficiently. So I was wondering if it was possible to use the SignageLite API to manipulate and create schedules/content on our already established enterprise account without limitations. If there is limitations what are they? If not at all, is there some plan to make an API to the enterprise account data?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5137
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: What type of accounts does the StudioLite API have access to?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 04:27:10 PM »
The API allows you to create any timelines, insert them to sequences and and play it (i.e. push to players) all programatically via the JS API (Jalapeno), so you could use your own timeline builder and push it on YOUR schedule to players all via API. Best of all the code has been written, so a good HTML5 / JS developer can just pull the snippets.

Of course you could also use the API to build Schedules as well, but that would not give you more flexibility compared to Studio Pro (other then creating it programmaticly of course, which could also help).

And, the API can be set to work on ANY account as long as you know its credentials.

Hope this helps...

eddie.stanley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: What type of accounts does the StudioLite API have access to?
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2014, 07:08:42 AM »
When I use Signage Studio Lite it will not let me login to my enterprise account. Is this just the way its it programmed or is my account not acting properly?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5137
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: What type of accounts does the StudioLite API have access to?
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2014, 07:06:14 AM »
No, Lite and Pro accounts are not compatible.
Once you upg from FREE Lite to FREE Pro, and do a save on StudioPro, you will not be able to switch back to a lite account.
Lite is basically a stepping stone into StudioPro.

teethstraight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: What type of accounts does the StudioLite API have access to?
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2014, 06:53:21 AM »
I find the incompatibility between Lite and Pro to be very limiting. We wanted to introduce a setup with our clients where they can co-manage their timelines and schedule. Currently, we take care of everything for them through a Pro Enterprise account. There is no way they would have the ability or the patience to figure out how to work Studio Pro, even with limited privileges.

Lite sounded like the solution to this: a user friendly portal to an account that we could also still manage with increased functionality through Pro. But that is not the case.

If Lite is being treated as a 'stepping stone', you're intention is that everyone eventually switch to Pro. I think the majority of people who are looking to manage a DS network are already tech savvy enough to figure out and start with Pro. The people that need help the most are our clients who make use of a network, not an absolute beginner who thinks that starting a DS network would be fun. Personally, I don't see how Lite helps the greater community here. It's intended to produce more Enterprise clients for you guys (I get it, revenue is important), but it in no way helps your existing paying customers, such as me.

Am I wrong? Thoughts?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5137
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: What type of accounts does the StudioLite API have access to?
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2014, 04:34:25 PM »
answered here:
http://script.digitalsignage.com/forum/index.php/topic,4373.msg13363/topicseen.html#new

and let me add that the great thing about StudioLite, is that it can be anything you want, just fork on http://git.digitalsignage.com

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines