August 20, 2019, 08:58:19 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://plus.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues  (Read 4971 times)

AndrewL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues
« on: October 08, 2009, 10:50:20 PM »
Hello,

I produce the video content in after effects CS4, export them via H.264 - MP4 as recommended on the forums and video tutorials.

When I upload the video files, the properties spam -1, -1, -1 for width, height, total time.

I click between a picture file or anything that already has 0 for total time and back to the ad I've just uploaded over and over and over again until it finally registers the correct length and media size.

Is there something I can do while rendering these file types?  The same issue happens when I've rendered in an flv format...

There is a rendering option to set 'key frame distance'... which I have tried out 15, 24 and 30 (video files are 29.97fps)

Let me know what I can do... lowering my video file frame rate is not an option for me incase you were going to suggest it... :S

Thanks,

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2009, 06:21:06 AM »
Hello,

Let me make sure I understand the problem.
You are saying that the MP4 does not show right properties, only after you refresh a few times ?

Please try and do this:

1. Go to resources
2. Upload a new MP4 file > File Save
3. Once loaded click away and come back to it
4. Select the "Camera" icon and do a screen capture of the resource to create a thumbnail

Do the properties appear now ?

Regards,

Sean - MediaSignage.com


AndrewL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2009, 08:01:03 AM »
Morning,

That did not solve the delema.

Further to needing to click back in forth (some times 30 times or more), once the information populates if I accidently click on that resourse in the resources section it has a strong chance to erase the actual time and put -1 in it's place again...

Thanks,

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2009, 08:43:26 AM »
Does it work for you with other flv resources ?

AndrewL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2009, 08:58:36 AM »
It doesn't seem to have an effect... however, by default the flv files seem to collect the time information much faster than the mp4 file (like in 1 or 2 clicks usually)... but if you click back and forth between the flv files, eventually they will change the time to -1... but in another click or two the time shows back up.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2009, 10:04:21 AM »
Ok, I will open a bug so we can further investigate.

conexia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2011, 08:51:32 AM »
I have the same problem here. I've tested it with several .MOV, .MP4 and .FLV (H.264/MPEG-4)
Converted with SUPER, as you reccommended
If I right-click on Properties in Windows, I can see width, height, and total time
When played with VLC Media Player, it also reads width, height, and total time
So I assume the error must be in MS
Hope version 3.1 solves these bugs

knocradio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2012, 04:07:22 PM »
I noticed that no one has posted a solution to this problem yet.

My company is looking into using this program, so far I like its user friendly interface, however, I am also having the same problem with my mp4 files.

Is it me that is doing something wrong or is it a flaw in the program?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4954
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2012, 04:26:11 AM »
solution for this is to let the mp4 file play completely in the resources preview, once it has completely played click on something else like a image file and then click on the video file again. This occurs more when you are uploading large mp4 files into the system. Basically the studio also caches these resources in its on cache folder, so until the video is completely cached you wont see its properties properly. hope that helps.

knocradio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Resource Properties (width, height, total time) issues
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2012, 03:55:41 PM »
Great, thank you!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines