September 20, 2020, 09:46:17 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://plus.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Overwrite of Resources  (Read 3918 times)

TdoubleG

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Overwrite of Resources
« on: January 02, 2014, 05:26:10 AM »
Hi again,

it would be very nice if you guys can integrate the oppertunity to overwrite resources. Maybe with a question "Are you sure to overwrite xxxx.jpg"

When "No" then add it like it is now, and when "Yes" then overwrite the resource.

Best Regards

ANOOP

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 742
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Overwrite of Resources
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 07:06:40 AM »
I would also appreciate this feature. This should also ensure that where ever the old resources are being used say in scene, collection or timelines it should get replaced with the new one. Most of the times when we delete a resource we do not have a track on where all we have used the resource and there is a tendency of blank screen appearing.

cloud

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: +3/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Overwrite of Resources
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2014, 10:16:51 AM »
One great feature.  ;D

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5090
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Overwrite of Resources
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2014, 10:52:01 PM »
We do support it, drag a resource on top of another resource on the timeline...

ANOOP

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 742
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Overwrite of Resources
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2014, 12:35:59 AM »
The issue is say we have this image in 50 timelines we cant keep dragging on all the timelines... One change in the resource can automatically replace all the 50 with new image but with the same name.

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Overwrite of Resources
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2014, 12:07:10 PM »
I agree.  This is a needed feature.  When a resource is uploaded with the same name, we should be given a checkbox option to choose either "Overwrite" or "Auto-Rename".

justadsguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Overwrite of Resources
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2014, 01:39:09 PM »
Admin -
dragging a resource over another resource requires wasted steps.
you have to import, search (which isn't easy any more), and drag to the exact space there the existing on it

* It's not a scalable solution
* What if the image is in 20 timelines? Or repeated several times in one timeline?


Alternative
upload the file
system checks name and says -- hmmm -- one exists with this file name already, would you like to replace or add new

Upon replacing -- the magic stuff happens and the timeline is automatically updated with the new image, even if that image is in 50 timelines!

presseco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Overwrite of Resources
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2014, 01:57:07 PM »
Hi all,

When searching in the forum I found some people talking about a "search and replace" feature.  Which was supposed to be in release 3.2. (http://script.digitalsignage.com/forum/index.php/topic,1723.msg11796.html#msg11796)
Anyone knows something about this?  Tried to find it but found nothing.

IPNDDS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Overwrite of Resources
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2014, 06:47:48 PM »
Yes, I would like to see this.  In fact, I would like to see Studio follow a lot of standard Windows conventions.  Undo is a biggie.

justadsguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Overwrite of Resources
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2014, 05:19:01 PM »
I've looked at several other signage providers recently and they have some basic file management systems that MS does not

* Replace from within the 'tree' -- as described above, this includes replacing an existing file and all instances of that file get replaced.

* Deleting a resource does not cause a blank spot
---> currently in MS if you delete a resource from the resource folder, it removes it from the timeline and leaves the space blank

* Scheduling content and playlists
---> easily schedule a particular resource to expire, even on random play -- and without having to use an external system such as "ad manager"
---> does not require the 'schedule' content to run separately from other content

* Predetermined import parameters
---> importing 20+ components and then having to go back and set parameters, such as playtime or aspect ratio, is time consuming and tedious


 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines