September 18, 2020, 10:20:47 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Custom Weather / Change Weather Host  (Read 2975 times)

JeromeM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Custom Weather / Change Weather Host
« on: February 21, 2013, 03:36:44 PM »
Hey Guys,

Recently tried to do a 5 day forecast as a bit of a eye catcher for the screens and noticed that only 2 days is available for outside of the USA.

So after talking to one of your live chat guys ( great guys - always a help!) He told me that you guys are using weather.gov as your weather host. They may be good for the US, but seeing as they only offer 2 days internationally, do you think you would consider changing to someone like worldweatheronline (dot)com ? As they allow 5 day for the world!

If you guys did want to keep with your current host then possibly allow the use of a custom weather host in the weather feed settings, just like ye have done with the RSS feed! :)

It allows far more use for non US users and makes putting a forecast possible as using a cropped Website using html code just isn't plausible when running the Campaigns of 3G Dongles with a fixed Data Limit! :)

Please reply to let me know if this is being considered? 
 

ecofabricio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Weather / Change Weather Host
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013, 09:53:40 AM »
Same problem....

and few city options.

djugutu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Weather / Change Weather Host
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2013, 07:40:31 AM »
I have the same problem, i have 10 Islands but only two cities are in the weather components, in that worldweatheronline are about 20 Villages/Cities included with 10 days weather information. Cant i use XML component to do my weather? If yes, do you have a tutorial or something that can help me?

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Weather / Change Weather Host
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2013, 08:22:52 AM »
You can use World Weather Online. You first need to signup for an account and then get an API key. The free one is fine for right now to test it out. You can have up to 500 calls to the server per hour with the free one, so that may be all you need.

Once you have the API Key, there is an API Explorer that will generate the URL and for you and you will see what Nodes you have access to.

Create a scene with XML Items say:

Field name: temp_F, Field type: Text
Field name: weatherDesc, Field type: Text
Field name: weatherIconUrl, Field type: Resource


Now either build a new scene and add the XMLPlayer or just add the XMLPlayer to the timeline and use the following:

URL: This will be the Request URI that was generated for you in the API Explorer.
Items path: current_condition

This should get you started.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5090
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Custom Weather / Change Weather Host
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2013, 07:44:51 AM »
thx for the post criley, good info...

Sean.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines