January 24, 2020, 05:18:31 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum

Author Topic: DigitalSignage in Schools - Managing content  (Read 3220 times)

cslater

• View Profile
DigitalSignage in Schools - Managing content
« on: June 05, 2013, 11:02:41 AM »
Hey everyone,

I'm a teacher in a school looking to find a way to auto-update an "e-billboard" within our building more efficiently and have tried the below ideas. I'm looking for some insight or possible solutions in hopes of avoiding having to log into the Signage studio for every update (will help to avoid the resource management issues as well due to a lack of folders). I usually am given an assortment of documents(poster-like) through email and asked to place these on the board for the following "x"-days. As you can imagine this becomes vary cumbersome to continually upload and then reconfigure within the SignageStudio and channels; therefore, I'm hoping to be able to take my emails and forward them to a blog (auto-update). Anyways here is what I tried and the limitations I have found, any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

1) My first thought was to use Posterous (remote email posting) and then utilize the Custom RSS Component to pull information. I was planning to set intervals at 15seconds and the duration/update to 3mins. Thus it would only show the 12 most recent posts (180seconds/15seconds/post = 12 posts). This would then limit the feed from pulling posts that were too old for display from my understanding. However, I was stonewalled by the fact that I had not heard Posterous was going down. So that was an epic fail...

2) I looked at utilizing WordPress in a similar manner, but the custom RSS fields pulls the avatar image as the resource not the attached media file. (Title and description work fine).