December 01, 2021, 05:03:18 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Screen size limit of 4096 in 4.0 studio??  (Read 3578 times)

globalimages69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Screen size limit of 4096 in 4.0 studio??
« on: June 01, 2012, 05:09:35 PM »
Hi,

Trying the new 4.0 studio (release 3 I believe) and when I try to create a screen (as oppossed to a screen division) with a total lenght of over 4096, the input field box changes it back to 4096 (i.e. it applies some input validation with the rule of size less than 4097).

Now, my screen sizes in 3.0 up to 3.2 have always been 5120x720 (the size of my physical "screen" or, rather, the windows desktop) and it has never given me any problems. Now, each screen DIVISION I have always kept under 2048 x 2048 as per limitation of the sofware (as I understood), which I also now believe with 4.0 has been improved to 4096 x 4096, but the TOTAL ("physical") screen size has been 5120 in my case but can't put that size in the input box for screen sizes in design studio 4.0

If it is a simple validation bug, could you pls fix it quickly and release a new version as I can't properly design on a screen that doesn't match my screen size? Thanks

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5137
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Screen size limit of 4096 in 4.0 studio??
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2012, 05:13:43 PM »
It is not a bug but a change in design, in 4.0 we have limit the screen to a 4096x4096 which can be a total of 2x2  or 3x2 HD screen configuration.

globalimages69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Screen size limit of 4096 in 4.0 studio??
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2012, 05:26:37 PM »
Oh, that's too bad, I can't properly do under 4096 on a 4-screen setup ... even 720 is 1280x4=5120 ... :(

Now I'll have to stay under 4.0 then ... is that a limitation of the studio or also the player??? I could use the new player and the old studio if so ...

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5137
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Screen size limit of 4096 in 4.0 studio??
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2012, 05:30:20 PM »
It's a limitation of the SignagePlayer.
You can however do 4 screens, you need to set it up so it's 2x2 1920 x 2 = 3840
So one PC with 4 screens (two on top and two on bottom) is no problem.
And you can run different content on all screens, OR spread the image across all 4.

globalimages69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Screen size limit of 4096 in 4.0 studio??
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2012, 05:33:37 PM »
Yeah, but my design called for scrolling horizontally across at least 3 of the 4 ... so I had it in a 4x1 configuration, I guess I can do a fake 3x2 at 1280x3=3840 and then play the 4th monitor with its own screen division set "underneath" the others (although physically it will continue to be 4x1) ... thankfully I only really need to scroll in 3 of them, 'cos if I really needed all 4 ... well, I would be much harder or impossible on 4.0 then ...

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines