October 17, 2017, 01:33:57 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs  (Read 10224 times)

LMS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« on: May 27, 2012, 01:04:38 AM »
Hi

After trying yesterday (26th May) with the 4.0 and not getting very far, I re-downloaded what appears to be the latest version again today (27th May)

Was a newer version released?

I'm still getting lots of lockups for example.

New "Business" new "Campaign"
Insert ExtApp/Capture in the time line.
Unable to enter any source data etc.
Try to delete ExtApp/Capture "Oops, That's embarrassing etc etc"

Sadly the software is unusable at the moment. Given that it looks like an update was done over night, is it possible to inform us of any updates, as I am sure like others we are very keen to see this software work?

Regards

conexia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2012, 02:26:24 AM »
I've downloaded the last version (may 27th)
My setup: Win7 Ultimate (spanish version), 2Gb RAM, Adobe AIR Beta 3.3.0.3560

SignageStudio pre-release 4.0 Alpha
Created new campaign for 4.0 version
Navigation menu is unusable -> Double click on folder name doesn't open folder and doesn't show the items in that folder
Put some content in the new campaign and tried to show it in Embedded Player -> got errors
Dynahelp does not show anything (tested with different "Hide what I know" and "Auto popup" tick combinations)

SignagePlayer 4-0
The download link does not appear in the Announcing major release 4.0 : pre-alpha forum post
To get it, I had to deduct it is http://galaxy.signage.me/Code/Install/air/CloudSignagePlayer_d.air but I'm not totally sure about it
When I try to use it, it DOES NOT START
How many tests have you been doing on different computers with different operating system versions?
I tested it in FOUR different machines and it did?t work - > NONE
So it is a buggy product, not my setup

You?ve being announcing that we had to look at Twitter (that does not show the pre-release Alpha anouncement) or Google+ (that does not jave any information about any versions) for new version announcements. Do you still use Google+ ?

From my point of view this is getting more like a "Community Powered Free Software group" without quality assurance nor obligations from you.
But I must remind you that many of the users here are PAYING CUSTOMERS that have been waiting for your product to work as expected from last October 2011
I use it in real for my customers and from then, have a BUGGY ADVERTISING MODULE that forces me to manually insert and remove content.
If I was a free user, I'd get THE SAME that I get as a paying one

And in the meantime, you put more and more bells and whistles, make new OS versions and add one-month delays on each post you write


In other side, I'd like to publicly THANK to the SUPPORT TEAM guys, they are kind and very efficient and professional, but can't fix buggy things
« Last Edit: May 27, 2012, 07:38:55 AM by admin »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4719
  • Karma: +35/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2012, 07:30:43 AM »
Please understand that we release a pre-alpha because users like yourself demanded to see it.
Every single bug you reported above is noted (we are aware of these specific issues).
And the reason we did not post on Twitter (yet) is for exactly for this reason, we are in pre-alpha and don't want thousands of people to download it just yet...
ExtApp will be fixed this week and we have open bug for folders.
Embedded player is part of the Web player which will come to the release next month.
The DynaHelp info is being built as we speak (videos, text, images) and will be enabled as soon as enough content was produced.

You are not supposed to use this release for any real work, just for playing around and if you be so kind, help us find exceptions.

We will post every update on the following links:

- http://script.mediasignage.com/forum/index.php/topic,1761.0.html
- http://script.mediasignage.com/forum/index.php/topic,128.0.html

Use this forum to report bugs and issues with 4.0

What I am asking from everyone that is testing the pre-alpha is to PLEASE report steps to reproduce exceptions errors. All the bugs you reported are documented and being worked on for this pre-alpga release. However, where we need your help is to reproduce exceptions bugs where you get the "Alert Error Dialog" just like you do now with the ExtApp; this will be a tremendous help.

So we ask that you be patient while we fix these minor bugs. And yes, these are minor bugs compared to the massive re factoring that took place in this release.
You will receive a new version every couple of days...


Sean
« Last Edit: May 27, 2012, 07:46:12 AM by admin »

LMS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2012, 10:42:57 AM »
Understood Sean :D

I suspect there was an update last night (I downloaded again and it had a new ver number)

Will any updates be flagged here newbielink:http://script.mediasignage.com/forum/index.php/topic,1761.0.html [nonactive] or elsewhere?

I assume you got the email ref the facebook component ?

Regards

« Last Edit: May 27, 2012, 10:44:33 AM by LMS »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4719
  • Karma: +35/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2012, 10:59:39 AM »
Yes we will update the running doc on the forum with 4.0 updates...
Just need to fix the basics first.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4719
  • Karma: +35/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2012, 11:44:29 AM »
External app fixed. Please review this link for updates: http://script.mediasignage.com/forum/index.php/topic,128.msg379.html#msg379

regards

globalimages69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2012, 02:59:18 PM »
Testing the pre-alpha 4.0 build and wondering if we should just make a (long) thread in the forum titled something like "POST ALL YOUR 4.0 PREALPHA ISSUES AND ERRORS IN THIS TRHREAD" to briefly describe the issues found in case they have not been officially noted. Posting a different thread for each bug this early in the release will surely be too messy and, as you say, unnecessary, as you are already aware of many problems and are fixing them in a daily basis and having tons of error reporting all over the place will probably just waste more time than save it.

My first issue and the one currently preventing me to try a few more things is studio apparently claiming that the total size of my screen is 4096 pixels wide instead of the real 5120 pixels that it is.

I know that each screen division has a 4096x4096 size limit in this release, but surely the total size of all screen divisions added together can be larger than this like in all previous versions, right?

LMS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2012, 04:03:35 PM »
Hi

Trying to "Import Scene"
All the folders are on the left side (Generic, SDK Etc Etc), clicking on any of these nothing happens (i.e. the scenes do not list under the folder or populate the right hand side)

Clicking ok while a Folder is highlighted crashes the program.

It doesn't give the exception error just sits there.

Regards 

Update
Just tried it again this time without highlighting a Folder, hit OK and it crashes.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2012, 04:08:33 PM by LMS »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4719
  • Karma: +35/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2012, 04:27:34 PM »
Yes import scene is also being worked on, + we are adding over 200 new scenes...
Expect fix in the following week or so.

thanks for reporting.

sds

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2012, 07:42:04 PM »
i still cant figure facebook it ask for a scene that kind of scene to be put in.
i am assuming it will be in the new update soon hopefully

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4719
  • Karma: +35/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2012, 08:51:07 PM »
We will release all details for XML Player and Facebook this week.

cas7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2012, 09:41:51 PM »
The html component shows the scroll bars, signage player pre-alpha 4(29th May)
newbielink:http://i46.tinypic.com/6774pi.jpg [nonactive]

this is not fixed yet? ;)
« Last Edit: June 07, 2012, 08:00:32 PM by cas7 »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4719
  • Karma: +35/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2012, 06:20:30 AM »
Thanks for reporting, opening a bug for HTML scrolls.

GRAFIXMEDIA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2012, 12:34:13 PM »
Hi, testing this and noticed that preview shared resources is one way ticket, no return  ;)

conexia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Studio 4.0 Alpha Bugs
« Reply #14 on: May 31, 2012, 01:14:31 PM »
I've got a bug in the Station Screen Print. When I try it, even if the size is 25% I've got a big screen print, bigger than the available space in the studio
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/820/screenprints.png/

And how can I close the Screen Print window?
« Last Edit: May 31, 2012, 01:17:37 PM by conexia »

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines