February 25, 2024, 10:24:53 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://plus.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Signage Player Multi Screens  (Read 1729 times)

EatFresh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
Signage Player Multi Screens
« on: April 25, 2023, 05:12:25 PM »
Hi, I am having issues with multi monitors with latest windows desktop player.
Is there way to download older version of windows player to test Campaign?

At the moment second screen is staying blank or over stretched low resolution.

Thanks.

EatFresh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Signage Player Multi Screens
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2023, 02:21:12 PM »
Hi, Just to update on this, I found old Windows desktop player version 4.34.9 and all is working as it should.
So Latest Desktop Player version 6 is broken and not fully ready for deployment.

Regards.

priceja

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Signage Player Multi Screens
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2023, 12:17:15 AM »
Yes, it is possible to download an older version of the Windows desktop player to test your Campaign. You can visit the manufacturer's website or other reliable sources to find and download an older version of the software. It is also recommended to check if the issue with the multi-monitors is caused by hardware or software settings, and adjust them accordingly. Additionally, make sure the graphics card driver is up-to-date and the displays are properly configured in the operating system settings.

EatFresh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Signage Player Multi Screens
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2023, 05:13:08 PM »
Hi, I was talking about older version of Signage Player for windows OS.
My computer hardware is configured correctly. Two identical 32" monitors connected with HDMI cables and set to Extend Desktop mode.
Campaign correctly set for two FHD screens in Signage Studio v6.4.10 running on Windows.

Latest Signage Player v6 will not play correctly but older signage player v4 is playing perfectly on same hardware with same settings.

Regards. 

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5189
  • Karma: +36/-8
Re: Signage Player Multi Screens
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2023, 08:49:54 PM »
for the newer version of the player, you can set up what we call the Combined Desktop where you make the app think that your system has one display whereas you actually have 2 or more.  to do this, go to Microsoft Store and install the Intel Graphic Command Center (IGCC) and start combining your monitors.  once that set up, simply launch version 6.x player and it will think you only have one display.  Note that this is different from Windows Extended Display Mode. 

for a complete guide, refer to this document: https://www.intel.com/content/dam/support/us/en/documents/graphics/IGCC_Collage_UserGuide_10thPlus_Gen.pdf

best regards

-ADMIN

EatFresh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Signage Player Multi Screens
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2023, 06:12:49 AM »
Hi admin thanks for the hack.
I will try this work around but at the moment it is not needed because signage player v4 is doing it's job as it should.
But why one must do all this to fool signage player v6 to play campaign correctly.
Shouldn't you be trying to fix this so user shouldn't have to use Intel Graphic Command Center (IGCC).

What has changed in player V6 to behave like this?

Am I using wrong version of Signage Studio to create campaign for player v6 to behave different to previous versions?

Regards.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2023, 06:16:07 AM by EatFresh »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5189
  • Karma: +36/-8
Re: Signage Player Multi Screens
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2023, 07:10:49 PM »
version 6 fully uses hardware acceleration (GPU) so the code base is different. and behaves differently.  also if you switch to the newest platform i.e. the Sign Studio and Sign Player, you will need Combined Desktop to get multiple screen.

IGCC is automatically included on newer windows using Intel HD/UHD Graphics and thus explains its availablility in Microsoft Store.  NVideo has their own (called Spanning)

note that the old Signage Studio and Signage Player are now on Legacy Status - we in fact are now calling them Legacy Studio and Legacy Player.  We will no longer do bug fixes on them nor will we update/add features to them.  we will however continue to support Legacy Studio and Player customers so long as there are people using them.

best regards

-ADMIN

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines