September 30, 2020, 05:17:59 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Timeline Transitions  (Read 4594 times)

Felipe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Timeline Transitions
« on: February 06, 2012, 02:59:35 PM »
I am running a flyer timeline where, each flyer advertises a business.
I am notice the transition between flyers is not smooth.

How do I created a smooth transition between flyers 

Thank you

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5090
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline Transitions
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2012, 05:13:22 PM »
You can position resources on a different channel and load the resource on the other channel BEFORE you assign the channel into a NEW screen division.
This technique is useful when using under powered PCs as the resource will load before it actually play.

Also note that in release 3.2 we will be introducing lots of new transitions so you will be able to have more control over this.

Regards.

warwickwater

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline Transitions
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2012, 04:05:22 AM »
Did this ever work - cant find transitions even in 4.0 beta?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5090
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline Transitions
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2012, 04:35:33 AM »
Its in the 4.0 roadmap will be added on a later date.

HVL

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline Transitions
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2012, 04:56:18 AM »
@Admin, could you perhaps elaborate on the pre-loading channel/content part? Especially optimizing loading-times is in my focus right now. Would this help run HD-video (flv.h264) more smoothly? Thanks in advance. (If you have any other tips on optimizing playback, please do tell)

-HVL

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5090
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline Transitions
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2012, 05:42:39 AM »
Pre-loading content means that you assign content to a screen division BEDORE the screen division actually loads.
Of course you can't do that for the 1st screen layout on your timelime, but you can do it for all subsequent layouts.

warwickwater

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline Transitions
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2012, 10:01:42 AM »
Would this help run HD-video (flv.h264) more smoothly? Thanks in advance. (If you have any other tips on optimizing playback, please do tell)

-HVL

Preload isnt going to help the video PLAY any smoother once you have loaded onto the local machine (ie the very first time it plays). What matters is the processor power required to decode the video. Easy answer - get a beefier player PC. Harder answer - experiment to see whether you truly need HD video. For a screen glanced at across a room you almost certainly dont. Drop to SD and the decoding (on the same PC) will be much smoother).

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5090
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Timeline Transitions
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2012, 08:43:52 PM »
Let me add the hardware accelerated transitions (coming at the end of 2012) will solve the issue.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines