January 20, 2019, 11:25:25 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://plus.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Signage Controller crash after certain remote tasks  (Read 4143 times)

ZeleProductions

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Signage Controller crash after certain remote tasks
« on: December 05, 2011, 08:44:54 AM »
Hi
I am having this application error in windows 7:
SignageController.exe has stopped working
A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.
Please close the program.


Now I've found multiple posts about this error, but none apply.
Everything was working fine up until I migrated to 3.0
I updated all the stations.
Other stations are working perfectly after migration.

I uninstalled SignagePlayer and Adobe Air, rebooted, then reinstalled everything from mediasignage website.  Reboot, upon rebooting, I get the error as soon as the SignageController tries to start.
Setting it as Test Station Mode will prevent the error from happening at startup. Being in Real Station Mode gives the error as I've described. I click close the program on the error, everything works fine.
Trying to SYNC or REBOOT STATION will bring the error. Clicking STOP or PLAY works fine.

I've looked in window's Event Viewer and I see the same error as the one I posted above.

My current work around is to click "Close the program" on the error message after the station rebooted, and then hope nothing crashes during the day.
Please help me out, there's something going on with SignageController.exe that Windows doesn't like!
I've updated Windows and I can later confirm which version of .NET Frameworks I have.

Any help will do!!
Alex

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Signage Controller crash after certain remote tasks
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2011, 06:50:19 PM »
Hi Alex,
Try and use the Freewarwe Revo which does a good job in uninstalling.

http://www.revouninstaller.com

Uninstall both SignagePlayer and AIR and once all been uninstalled, try and do a fresh install.



ZeleProductions

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Signage Controller crash after certain remote tasks
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2011, 03:57:00 PM »
Hello, thanks but that didn't cut it. I tried multiple ways, but still there's something creating that same error no matter what!
It began immediately after migrating. Is there a special adobe AIR update I should get on top of the auto-updating one?
What exactly does the controller do when it opens? is there a config in the executable (signagecontroller.exe) that I could tick "on"?
It's causing an error at startup, and when I try to sync or reboot. play/stop are fine.

Additionally, and you may find this interesting, I am having a similar problem on a different station, let's call this one LOBBY-PC.
LOBBY-PC runs on Windows Media Player, because as soon as signagecontroller.exe starts up, windows pops a box asking me what kind of reboot I want to perform! I can cancel it away and it will work fine, pretty much like my primary issue.
Ok, Synching LOBBY-PC works fine, as every other function. So this issue is a different one entirely!
So What does SignageController do exactly? I know it loops the player and checks everything and blocks all the rest, but what in windows would make it react this way?

I really need to fix this, we are expanding and I need this small network to perform!

Sincerely,
Alex

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4892
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Signage Controller crash after certain remote tasks
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2011, 07:07:36 AM »
ok...  make sure you are running latest versions of adobe air...   download  from http://get.adobe.com/air

then disable adobe air updates. 
Disable Adobe AIR auto updates
The first thing you should do is disable the Adobe AIR auto software updates which may cause your Player to prompt you with a dialog screen. To disable the Auto-Update install the following link on your Media Player. Be sure to choose, Disable Updates.
http://airdownload.adobe.com/air/applications/SettingsManager/SettingsManager.air

also if you are running win 7...     try disabling UAC and running the signage controller.exe as administrator.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/disable-user-account-control-uac-the-easy-way-on-windows-vista/

and the last thing on your plate, we've seen happen on none US English based win 7 installation.

check to see if this will enable  US English language in your installation

http://www.froggie.sk/





 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines