August 25, 2019, 04:09:33 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: rs-232 power on LCDTV  (Read 12205 times)

unrealt77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
rs-232 power on LCDTV
« on: November 12, 2011, 05:35:03 AM »
Hello

Probably someone here use a home LCDtv,how to you power on a LCD ,do you power on with rs232.
My LCD is 42LK430 but i didn't find a way to power on whit rs232.

GRAFIXMEDIA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2011, 04:31:34 PM »
Yeh sure I have big LCD-TV like most of us here do,
I normally press the power on or the RED button on remote.  It?s quite simple really

unrealt77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2011, 02:05:08 AM »
That can go when the tv is close ,but if the tv is 20 km from you what then?

Dennis williams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2011, 08:49:32 AM »
Same question on setting up time on and time off  for lcd monitors .....

In properties top right power saving would like to have monitor turn off at night then back on at 7 am is that possible? if so how? :'(

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4962
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2011, 01:44:47 PM »

itehno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2011, 04:41:10 AM »
It's done via power savings: http://mediasignage.com/html/signage_video.html?videoNumber=PowerSavings

Most of LCD TV sets will not react in the same way as LCD monitor (enter power saving mode until signal returns). TV set will most likely stay turned on all the time, with some message moving around the screen (no input, check input, or similar). In this case, solution could be IR transmitter driven from RS232 or USB port, which would transmit "power ON" and "power OFF" codes for particular type of TV set. This can be done in many different ways (even using original remote), skilled electronic technician should be able to do it.

unrealt77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2011, 03:11:23 AM »
Same question on setting up time on and time off  for lcd monitors .....

In properties top right power saving would like to have monitor turn off at night then back on at 7 am is that possible? if so how? :'(

You can do that on my LG there is opcion.But there is problem when a tv lost a power supplay then a clock on tv reset.
I have no luck,speake with LG service and thay told me that the rs-232 port is lock and that the main purpose is for service.

unrealt77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2011, 03:50:14 AM »
And finally i managed to power up a LCDTV whit rs-232 port.

Dennis williams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2011, 08:25:29 AM »
explain please how did you manage to do that?

unrealt77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2011, 12:10:09 AM »
To connect TV and PC in my case it is mediabox200 i need to bay a usb to rs-232  kabel and make a rs 232 kabel with a female-female connector (Be careful when make a kabl watch the numbers on connector).
Then you need to download program ,modul and a files that will power up a tv.
 
Download a program from here:

http://www.activestate.com/activepython/downloads/thank-you?dl=http://downloads.activestate.com/ActivePython/releases/3.2.2.3/ActivePython-3.2.2.3-win32-x86.msi

Also need to install this modul for program,downlaad it from this location

http://pypi.python.org/pypi/pyserial

At the and download files for power up a tv from this location:

https://github.com/suan/libLGTV_serial

when you download this files  put them on root and make a batch file and put it to startup folder .After that you need to disable a Igfxtray in Startup manager.

That is all :)

Dennis williams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2011, 08:32:47 AM »
Looks like this is a Mac system we have a pc windows system.... :'(

unrealt77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2011, 08:43:31 AM »
No i have a win7.All that was for windows.

actnowguy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV... explain please?
« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2013, 12:45:10 PM »
I know this is an old post but would like to try what is mentioned ..So do I have this right? after downloading the files mentioned above it is installed on the computer used as the player?
...could you explain maybe a step by step for this part of the procedure: "put them on root and make a batch file and put it to startup folder .After that you need to disable a Igfxtray in Startup manager."

jetimages

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2013, 01:09:17 AM »
I use a simple method that works fine!

- Use a USB to RS-232 cable (some TVs need a serial adapter with croossver)
- Use EventGhost, associate windows events to the serial plugin.

Thats it! I have my tvs shutdows when mediasignage go to standbymode ans power on after a windows restart. Also, in the same macro i mute the TV, Change the inut source and make a automatic adjustment.

If will be nice if we can do that directly in MS!

ANOOP

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 741
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rs-232 power on LCDTV
« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2013, 06:58:56 AM »
@ Jetimages :

Thanks need to try this out

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines