November 22, 2019, 02:05:46 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?  (Read 7376 times)

dgr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
hello,
every time I launch MediaSignage (at least for months now) there has been an upgrade to the desktop studio software, and when I try to upgrade it I always get error code# 0 and the upgrade can't proceed.  I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate and I've tried turning User Account Control down to it's lowest/least safe setting and restarting my computer then trying the upgraded again, but still get this error.
I really want to get the latest version of studio running on my office pc.
has anyone else has this problem with error code# 0 and if so what did you do to resolve it so that MediaSignage studio will upgrade?
Thanks in advance,
David
« Last Edit: November 10, 2011, 10:45:53 AM by dgr »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5005
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage, adobe air error code# 0, how to resolve?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2011, 02:25:34 PM »
It's gotta be due to a security settings in your windows.
I recommend reducing the OS security.
Which OS are you using? Vista?

dgr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage, adobe air error code# 0, how to resolve?
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2011, 09:59:52 AM »
Window 7 Ultimate and at present I have UAC turned do to it's "least safe" mode
I appreciate anyone that can get this fixed for me as it's been a long time (many months ago) since I've been able to successfully upgrade SignageStudio on my desktop.  I just tried again and the same error:

Application Install
SignageStudio
"An error occurred while updating the application. Try updating it again. If the problem persists, contact the application author." Error #0

Thanks.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5005
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage, adobe air error code# 0, how to resolve?
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2011, 12:11:43 PM »
I think we concluded the issue is due to an XP embedded machine of another DS vendor.
If someone else has an idea, great! But I think reformatting it would be the best option and installing a clean OS.

dgr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2011, 08:37:10 AM »
hello,
reformatting my office pc to factory condition is not a feasable option for a myriad of reasons.
is there any other solution to the problem I originally posted?
also:
now when I run signage studio, it tries to download the update, then says "download failed there was an error downloading the update. error#16284"
how do I resolve this error?
thanks,
david

aosborne

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2011, 09:09:59 AM »
Hi -

I'm getting that same error message.  Also running Windows 7 (this is only one of many issues I've had since being forced to upgrade!).   :(

Is there an option to download the update via an ftp site or something like that?  That's what I've had to do with another program.

Thanks!!

dgr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2011, 03:42:16 PM »
can anyone help with this issue?
thanks.

TroyPetry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2011, 09:11:10 PM »
I had same error msg 16284 when updating 2.2.1088 to the 2.2.2012.  Tried several times.  Went to website directly for install, but now my PC has the 3.0 desktop version loaded.  How do I get the 2.2.2012 so I can do the migration?  Do you have a link to obtain this?  I'm stuck (and I can't update my system content until I get unstuck).  Thanks.

conexia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2011, 11:28:12 PM »
I had same error msg 16284 when updating 2.2.1088 to the 2.2.2012.  Tried several times.  Went to website directly for install, but now my PC has the 3.0 desktop version loaded.  How do I get the 2.2.2012 so I can do the migration?  Do you have a link to obtain this?  I'm stuck (and I can't update my system content until I get unstuck).  Thanks.

In the Webpage http://mediasignage.com/html/digital_signage_software.html you can see at the bottom:
 To download the previous 2.0 version of the SignagePlayer and SignageStudio click on the links below (not for new users):
    http://master.mediasignage.com/MasterServer/AirStudio.air

I would uninstall AirStudio Desktop version 3 and install 2.0 version. That way your Signage Studio would be sync with your 2.0 stations

dgr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2011, 08:39:47 AM »
when I go to newbielink:http://mediasignage.com/html/digital_signage_software.html [nonactive]
I follow the link to download & install the latest SignageStudio Desktop version, the install routine sees that I have 2.# installed and asks if I want to Replace it with 3, I say yes, it then attempts to do so, then stops with an error message window

Application Install
SignageStudio
The application could not be installed. Try installing it again. If the problem persists, contact the application author.
Error# 0


how do I resolve this error so I can successfully ugrade to signagestudio 3?
thanks,
david

dgr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2011, 08:43:19 AM »
also, if I download the airstudio.air application mentioned a couple posts earlier and try to replace my signagestudio 2.2.1085 installed version with the new 2.2.2014 version, I get the same error #0 And if I click More Options, and try to uninstall I also get error #0.
 :'(

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5005
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2011, 04:36:50 PM »
I never seen error #0. Try and google for "Adobe AIR Error#0" and see if it leads you to something...

valp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?
« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2011, 07:38:41 AM »
newbielink:http://galaxy.signage.me/Code/mediaSignageStudio.air [nonactive]

404 - File or directory not found.
The resource you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable.

That is the link support sent me

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5005
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: can't upgrade mediasignage to 3.#, adobe air errors, how to resolve?
« Reply #13 on: December 16, 2011, 10:29:32 AM »
http://galaxy.signage.me/Code/mediaSignageStudio.air

404 - File or directory not found.
The resource you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable.

That is the link support sent me

Please install from our website, by clicking in GET STARTED and installing latest 3.0 studio from there.
or use this link
http://galaxy.mediasignage.com/Code/cloudStudio.air

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines