December 15, 2019, 01:05:08 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: simple problem but really need help  (Read 4400 times)

qnarkong

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
simple problem but really need help
« on: September 27, 2011, 08:44:18 PM »
I would want to know...

1) How to play external video? And what video format do media signage support?
For example, I have a URL(not html) which plays external video, how can I add this URL to my display content?

2) How to let user input on the screen?

3) Can Signage player run in standalone mode? That?s without connecting to the CMS. We just use the Signage Studio to create the content and export to files that can be save to the target machine?

Thanks!!!


qnarkong

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: simple problem but really need help
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2011, 08:04:57 AM »
Thanks!

For the first question, I would want to make it more details:

I would want to use the media signage to display a URL which displays content of an IP camera. This means the media signage is used to display live content.

Would the media signage possible for doing this?
If yes, is there any tutorial documentation/video?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: simple problem but really need help
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2011, 09:59:10 AM »

qnarkong

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: simple problem but really need help
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2011, 09:17:26 PM »
The tutorial video is not targeted for what I want. I am not controlling thirty or forty signage player. And I don't want to set up a server.

I have a link that displays llive content of an IP camera and the format is swf.
The format of the link looks like below:

http://(ip address)/axis-cgi/mjpg/video.swf?resolution=640x480&camera=1

I found it cannot be display on the signage player when I use component "external video" and enter this url in the studio side.

What's the mistake?

Thanks!

qnarkong

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: simple problem but really need help
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2011, 09:43:59 PM »
And the video tutorial ended when it plays to 13:02...

dcatcha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: simple problem but really need help
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2011, 10:08:06 AM »
Did you ever get this setup?

I am displaying live traffic camera's on my signs...

Go to
Scene Editor
Click the + sign
drag the HTML icon into the MAIN window
click the box... Under properties drop in your URL

Now on the Layout tab set your properties for box, and then adjust as needed.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2011, 02:06:28 PM by dcatcha »

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines