June 18, 2019, 01:51:18 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Dual Monitor(1 for Signage, 1 for other)?  (Read 3179 times)

Zakulos123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Dual Monitor(1 for Signage, 1 for other)?
« on: July 19, 2011, 06:59:12 AM »
Just want to make sure I understand.  It seems that if using the actual Desktop install of the SignagePlayer, in a dual screen computer, it will take over both monitors.  So if I wanted only one monitor to be used for for the Signage I should use the web player?  Does the web player automatically change with saves?  Seems like I need to restart it after a change to see the new additions.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4943
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Dual Monitor(1 for Signage, 1 for other)?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2011, 09:59:13 AM »
Correct, web player can run in single screen, but Desktop will take all screens.

quarks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual Monitor(1 for Signage, 1 for other)?
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2011, 01:40:49 AM »
Is there any way to automate loading the webplayer upon startup of the machine to display on monitor 2 only?  Or anyway to display the desktop player to display on Monitor 2 only?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4943
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Dual Monitor(1 for Signage, 1 for other)?
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2011, 03:08:49 PM »
You need to use the Desktop player for dedicated playback.

GRAFIXMEDIA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dual Monitor(1 for Signage, 1 for other)?
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2011, 03:23:25 PM »
With a second monitor as an extended desktop the normal behaviour for most, but not all, programs is to open in the place that you used it last. In your example all you'd need to do is open Internet Explorer as normal, reduce it to a window if it isn't already and drag it over to second monitor. Close IE while it is on the extended desktop area, whether it is windowed or full screen, and the
next time you run it IE will open in the second display

If you wanting internet explorer to auto start on windows boot-up then this is how you do it on Windows XP

First right click on internet explorer icon and create shortcut

Then right click on Start button and click on open
(This will open start menu folder)

Double click on programs folder inside menu folder

Now drag & drop shortcut of internet explorer icon inside Programs Folder

Now run internet explorer and set your Home Page as which ever campaign you want it to run just copy & paste it and save.

Restart your computer and Internet explorer should auto start & start to play your selected campaign.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines