October 02, 2022, 02:58:06 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://plus.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Player stops  (Read 5561 times)

Dave Nelson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Player stops
« on: January 28, 2016, 08:36:21 AM »
Has anyone had a signage player randomly stop and successfully resolved the issue?
Everything runs fine for a while and then stops.  It has one campaign, with one time line running a single sequence. It is a lengthy timeline (1:00:30).

I am running the signage player 4.34.25 on a Windows 10 Intel Compute Stick.
Processor
- IntelĀ® Atom Quad-Core Processor Z3735F, 1.33GHz, 2MB cache (BYT-T-CR VLV SoC)
Memory
- Single-channel DDR3L 1.35V, 1333 MHz, 2GB
Storage
- 32GB eMMC storage device

Thanks!

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5156
  • Karma: +36/-8
Re: Player stops
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2016, 03:59:52 PM »
The atom is very weak, I recommend you get our mediaDROIDX which runs flawlessly... and just $169.00

Ernie Barr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Player stops
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2016, 04:33:21 AM »
Hi Dave.
I am having the same problem and I am using a mini PC with the same parameters as yours (maybe is the "eLife"?).
My timeline is 10 minutes only. I am using windows 8.1

1. Are you using Flash archives in your timeline?. I do.
2. Are you using a FREE cloud or you are paying $99 for Enterprise member?
3. How many stations do you have connected?. I have 15.
4. Finally, could you solve the problem?
Regards

Dave Nelson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Player stops
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2016, 02:29:45 PM »
Ernie,
Sorry for the delay in response.  My answers to your questions below:
1. I'm not sure I understand your question.  Flash is the native environment for the player.  My videos are all MPEG4's.
2. Free.  I've thought about the pay version; but, I want to be sure the basics work first.
3. It varies.  I add and delete stations.  Typically 1 to 3.
4. Different hardware seems to have resolved it at some locations.

Dave

Marusyapl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Player stops
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2016, 12:22:17 AM »
Thank you for that. But I dont it gonna be work with our police on LSRP.

erichansen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Player stops
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2016, 10:01:45 AM »
Just to share my findings, the first gen Intel stick didn't not hold up with video playback before erroring or freezing up. However, the new generation of Intel sticks has been playing back 1080p videos flawlessly, the IntelĀ® Atom Quad-Core Processor Z3735F is not sufficient enough for videos but will work with stills.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5156
  • Karma: +36/-8
Re: Player stops
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2016, 12:03:17 PM »
tx for reporting

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines