February 18, 2019, 08:52:44 PM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Hardware  (Read 3525 times)

unrealt77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Hardware
« on: October 18, 2011, 06:55:53 AM »
Hi to all

Can all of you here tell me what hardware except mediabox do you use like extenders spliters maybe wifi.

tnx

GRAFIXMEDIA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2011, 09:08:54 AM »
Intel Pentium Dual Core (E5700) 3.0GHz with 2MB Cache
2GB RAM, 120GB HDrive
Windows XP or above like win7
is good starting point for decent speed presentations.

It all depends on how demanding your presentation is.
If it?s simple photo slide & with some FLV Video then even ATOM Based Dual core system will do the job.

If you are going to run more then 1 display with lots of SWF files then go for High-end quad core CPU & More RAM.

unrealt77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2011, 05:39:21 AM »
I also use that config. but i was thinking sothing like this
http://www.hdtvsupply.com/1x8-vga-splitter-over-cat5.html
What manufactors do you use.

GRAFIXMEDIA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2011, 04:46:24 PM »
It all depends on how many displays you are thinking of using
Also how far distance they are from each other and the player unit

If it?s single screen output playing on multi screens like all the screens are showing same thing then that will have no effect or load on the player.

But if you are thinking of displaying different content on each display then that thing is no good as it is simply signal splitter 1 in many out.

unrealt77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2011, 02:02:33 AM »
I was thinking like this : one mediabox300 with 2 display,and from that displays goes a 8 monitor (from 1 share to 4).I have a problem there i need some kinde of wifi video transfer to other 4 screens.I hope that you understend me.

Dan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hardware
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2011, 07:39:03 AM »
We use StarTech.com products for all types of applications like that. You can get them online easily enough. I used to work there for almost 7 years as their technical sales person so if you have any questions related to their products just let me know and I should be able to help.

Ideally, you'd want to use cat5e video extenders that can go up to 300FT. Wireless I haven't seen anything reliable enough to date.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines