November 28, 2021, 03:54:29 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Stay up to date with everything that's happening at http://twitter.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: Advertising Engine and ad packages  (Read 18211 times)

mcpvision

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2011, 08:40:37 AM »
Yes,
We are selling ads by the month in Indiana on rotation(restaurant & retail).  We tell advertisers the ad (10-12 seconds) will appear 10 times an hour minimum, 15 hours a day, 7 days a week. 8)
We also place ads about the place our board is in (Example: tip your waitress...)and comical photographs to keep people looking.
We are just starting out and things may change, I'm sure.  Cost is set right now as follows:
1 month $50
3 months $45 per
6 months $35 per
12 @ $25
second ad or location add $10 per
ad change out $10 per instance
Plus charging for ad creation.
Pushing for the 12 month commitment prepay and keeping in mind that Election & county fair ads will only want a single month, they pay our premium of $50
We are in a rural area so the money is not as high as in a metro area. :'(

AndrewL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #16 on: September 21, 2011, 10:25:36 AM »
Hey guys - me again lol

I set up my advertising player in my large screen zone - but I wanted to mix things like a weather RSS, some trivia and Did you knows that I update via my own rss feed.

For example I create a scene with a custom RSS component then just point it to my rss feed location however, my advertising player fills the whole zone for the whole hour. I tried to see if I could send a scene as a resource in my outgoing ad package but it really only lets me select resources, not scenes. I wanted that stuff to play every 2.5 minutes.

Any suggestions how I can share that zone and get my random fun screen viewing stuff mixed in?

Thanks,

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5137
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #17 on: September 21, 2011, 12:35:33 PM »
Either use multiple screen divisions, or switch between the Ad component on the timeline and other components (RSS, MRSS etc...) within a single channel.

AndrewL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #18 on: September 22, 2011, 11:10:04 AM »
Hello -

Okay I tried the mixing up of ad player and scenes but for some reason the frame rate went to about 1 after it bounced back and forth a couple of times. It did that every time I rebooted or restarted the signage - worked smoothly for a few ad package - scene - ad package - scene then coughed up with a frame rate of 1.

So what I will probably do is try a couple of screen division layouts and every 2.5 min or so I'll have the full screen stuff shrink down so that a side bar can display a scene for 30 seconds or something - then back to full screen... we'll see how that pans out.

Also - is there a way to disable the 'auto rewind' of ads displayed via the ad package component? It finishes playing a video, then re-starts it again during the transition to the next ad.

Thanks guys.

ethnopub

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #19 on: September 28, 2011, 12:49:44 PM »
Hello
We are based In France, Media Signage is great
V3 and the Ad engine seem more than great

But I have a small request  ;)

In the Outgoing Ad part / Station Picker I would like to be able to select several station at the same time

I have a network of more than 100 stations, and I would like to be able to select batch of them without to pick them one by one...  do you think it is possible?

Thank You

Thomas

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5137
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #20 on: September 29, 2011, 09:26:13 AM »
Yes it is in our road map.
In October we will be migrating everyone to 3.0 and at the end of October we will push on releasing alpha 3.1.
If all goes well, Starting Dec / Jan you will start seeing releases and new features on a weekly basis.

Regards

ethnopub

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #21 on: October 03, 2011, 06:47:52 AM »
Hello

Great !!

so about the migration from V2 to V3,
Shall we wait that you will migrate our park
or do we have migrate our selvves each station to V2 to V3?

Because I would rather wait for you guys to migrate my V2 account in V3, than do each one of tham by myself... ;)

thank you

thomas

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5137
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #22 on: October 03, 2011, 04:38:32 PM »
ya just wait since it will happen in the next 2-4 weeks...

criley

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #23 on: July 15, 2012, 07:35:54 PM »
MCPVision,

It's been a year now. I'm just checking to see if you're still using the same business plan for your ad packages.

mcpvision

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #24 on: August 24, 2012, 02:59:43 PM »
We are selling advertising still but upped pricing by $15 across the board.
Finally found a financial backer to open multiple restaurants/retail outlets at once in the same town.
This will add value to customers while increasing revenue with multiple location packages in a single town or county.

Currently, locations are spread 40 miles apart or more.

We established a contract with business owners for 24 months of service.  This assures advertising sale completion
in a long term manner. ???

All yet to play out but we are hopeful.

;D
I would love to hear anyone's marketing ideas!

vdmidia

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Advertising Engine and ad packages
« Reply #25 on: October 31, 2012, 05:07:48 AM »
I think the whole problem is that to make the loop 1 hour. If you ignore this and let time be the size of loop you need to be, it will work more easily. Just make the loop rotate according to the number of packets inserted and ready. That they are willing to do, and not to be working, is unnecessary. We just need a function to randomize ads.

My suggestion is to create kind of packages:

- Announcements (ADS)
- Contents (news and others...)
- Teasers (brand vignettes)

From there, we would have an option for each of these types of packages is randomness or sequential.

Only then would choose how much of each type of package would rotate in sequence. Like a package playlist.

Thus, we could have "ads" in random order, while every 2 or 3 ads enters a "Content" .. and every 6 or 7 packets enter a "Teaser". That would be rather simple and professional.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines