October 20, 2019, 09:41:26 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News: Join us for a FREE Webinar this Thursday at http://webinar.digitalsignage.com

MediaSignage support forum



Author Topic: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?  (Read 6602 times)

pedroparamo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« on: March 16, 2011, 06:36:28 PM »
Is there a way to schedule individual media resources in a timeline.  For example I have some PNG files playing in a media zone-I'd like to be able to schedule each of them to STOP playing on certain dates.  I can see how I could do this with multiple timelines but this would get somewhat complicated because I sometimes have 40 or 50 different png files that need to play for different durations.

A related question--how many timeliness can I have in one campaign?

Thanks.

Pedro

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4987
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2011, 08:00:41 AM »
Yes, that is exactly what the new Engine (releasing in a few weeks) will do.
See this:
http://www.mediasignage.com/html/reseller_video.html?videoNumber=AdEngineIntro

dotScott

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2011, 05:19:52 AM »
I see the new engine was suppose to be released near the end of March.  What is the new expected release date?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4987
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2011, 07:16:12 AM »
We are finalizing a few last things and hope to get it to Public Alpha by end of this week.
Regards,

Sean - MediaSignage.com


crowther

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2011, 08:16:34 AM »
Hi  - we are currently evaluating MediaSignage - and I would like to try out the ability to schedule individual resources that you say is now available (in alpha/beta).

I run SignageStudio on my desktop - but use your public servers.

Can I test out the new scheduling - and if so how ?
Thank you,
« Last Edit: June 13, 2011, 08:19:05 AM by crowther »

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4987
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile

crowther

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2011, 02:37:17 AM »
Hi - thanks,
Unfortunately, this is just scheduling of timelines. Earlier on in this thread, you spoke of being able to schedule individual resources.

We (like I guess, many others), have a standard signage show that repeats during the day, but we need to be able to schedule in  movies, or JPGs to start at a certain date and end at a later date. We curently have about 20 or 30 resources that are scheduled to just run for different weeks in the future. This is why it is important to be able to schedule individual resources.

Earlier in this thread you said there was a beta release that would do this - is this the case please (and if so, can I have access to it please ?)

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4987
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2011, 09:02:00 PM »
The Ad engine can do this using expiration of Ad packages, but it's only available to enterprise users...

crowther

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2011, 08:18:26 AM »
Hi - I looked at the Ad package on your tutorial - and it looks like it might work for us. But of course we haven't got the enterprise edition yet.

Is there any other way of scheduling individual resources - as the lack of this scheduling would be a show-stopper for us ?

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4987
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2011, 07:48:05 AM »
Just the Ad engine...

milancrash

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2015, 03:55:28 AM »
Hello, this solution would be really helpfull for us. We are enterprise users, but to implement it with the ad engine is not very handy and needs a lot of time. Is there an other way to schedule certain resources on certain timelines without making ad packages for each resource? It is very unflexible to realize it with packages. Some resources need to be changed weekly, and like this we have to make really a lot of packages.

admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4987
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2015, 08:28:06 AM »
the mediaADNET is the perfect solution for this and it is coming late this year

Dimichmup

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
how to schedule media resources in a timeline
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2016, 07:28:31 AM »
Are there any ways to reboot VPS automatically in schedule?

ANOOP

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 741
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
Re: how to schedule media resources in a timeline?
« Reply #13 on: July 04, 2016, 10:34:42 PM »
A campaign can have any number of timelines.. Use scheduler to stop the timelines

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
variant: carbon
SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines